We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lineman and his girll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HuHot Mongolian Grill

HuHot Mongolian Grill
2310 SE Delaware Ave, Ankeny, IA 50021
+(1)515-963-7860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 114 Restaurants in Ankeny
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Create your own Asian stir-fry! Choose from our fresh selection of meats, seafood, noodles, veggies and Asian-influenced sauces. Customize your Mongolian BBQ masterpiece, then watch as it’s cooked on our grill of epic proportions. It’s all-you-can-eat, so you can try as many combinations as you want! A unique dining experience for the whole family.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lineman and his girll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I loved the experience and the wait staff and cooks gave off this very friendly inviroment. Just amazing.... but I will admit dinner and drinks for two $40????

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best HuHot in Iowa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love getting our adult kids and their families together at HuHot in Ankeny. We don't mind the 45 minute drive because we know we can depend on a dependable, great meal, a clean restaurant, great service and clean restrooms. We all love the variety of choices to fill our bowl before going to the grill whether vegetarian or mostly meat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Personalized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the place for picky eaters. You can dish up just what you like and leave what you don't. Always a great variety of meats, seafood and veggies on the buffet for your own special creation. The chefs cook your dish for you. If you don't like it, you can start all over again...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun place but you have to work for your food. LOL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Pick your meat, veggies, starch and sauces and handsome grill masters cook em up for you.The servers are great, food is tasty and it's a handsome place. It's cheap, healthy and fast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well, it's inexpensive, fast and pretty good quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's just not Chinese or Mongolian cuisine. I like to load my own ingredients and watch them being cooked. The problem was that all the meat (beef, pork and chicken) was cut paper thin and frozen. That's good for safety, but not so good when left on the hot grill for too long. The veggies came off fine; but the meat was overcooked. Hard to avoid that when cooking so many meals at once.
I can see why this place is popular: Fast, unlimited portions, okay quality. If you are looking for a real Oriental food experience, look elsewhere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HuHot Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to HuHot Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HuHot Mongolian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.