We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Charro

El Charro
2010 Southeast Delaware Avenue, Suite 230, Ankeny, IA 50021
515-964-4264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 114 Restaurants in Ankeny
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Craving Mexican food? El Charro Mexican Restaurant of Ankeny, IA is here for you. We are a family owned and operated business with full bar service. Our restaurant features homemade tortillas and a mesquite wood grill for the tastiest Tex-Mex cuisine. Our love for our food allows us to create dishes with the freshest ingredients and the finest traditional Mexican recipes. Our friendly and accommodating staff will be glad to serve you. Experience a great family restaurant.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food is excellent and different from the same old Mexican food in the area. Some unique dishes and drinks. The service is truly friendly. The stuffed poblano is worth returning for, as are the cantaritos.
We were told they were under new management, hope the newness doesn't wear off and service deteriorate as we've seen in other restaurants.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Other Mexican restaurants in Ankeny are much better. Margaritas are not very good and are more expensive here. Food was ok but nothing to brag about. Will not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I decided to try El Charro for lunch. We both ordered the Burrito/Taco combo lunch. While we were waiting, we enjoyed warm chips and flavorful salsa. We had been here several years ago and they also served a cheese sauce but it was not offered this time. Our server was very friendly and efficient. Our lunch came out quickly and was tasty and freshly made. The price for our lunch was comparable to other meals. We will come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a fraud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went in there 3 different times and got charged different. Prices for my margaritas .. They just make up there own prices on alcohol here .. I have reported my case with others and I'm told there will be getting there liqueur license taken away in the next month.. Don't go here there dishonest

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Loved the items on the menu and the prices. Best we've found here so far and we have tried several!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro also viewed

 

Been to El Charro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.