We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Biking Des Moines Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Trestle Trail

High Trestle Trail
Parking Area off First Ave, Ankeny, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Ankeny
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For Biking Des Moines Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We rode the High Trestle trail in late Sept. It was excellent; a good trail even without the trestle, but with it---excellent. Also note though that there are a number of very nice rail trails in and around Des Moines. We rode 6 different trails in a week of vacation for a total of 300 mi. and enjoyed every minute of it. Of course hitting a week of perfect indian summer weather didn't hurt either. Wish we had trails like these in the South.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DUDE, YOU'VE GOT TO RIDE THIS TRAIL !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I rode the trail on the last weekend of September, 2012 and were very lucky to probably hit the peak of the fall foliage color. It was just a fantastic ride. The trail ends are in Woodward and Ankeny. The scenic highlight must be the trail bridge over the Des Moines River between Madrid and Woodward. We started our ride in Madrid. The trail crosses IA Highway 17 in Madrid about 2 blocks south of the Kum and Go. Immediately south of the trail crossing is a left turn into Delander(?) Park with parking and restrooms available. Across the trail from this park is the Flat Tire Lounge with a wide selection of beverages to fuel up before or refuel after your ride. Snacks and sandwiches are available there on an irregular schedule. Other eateries in Madrid have small signs along the trail if you're hungry and want to explore. This western leg of the trail is flat to slightly rolling and all paved. We'd rate it as suitable for all ages and average biking experience. Nothing too strenuous. Great for families of all ages. It is a multi-use trail so you may share the roadway with walkers, roller-bladers and horses off to a side. Just ride it and enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Bike Ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We parked in Madrid and biked to Woodward. It is about 11.2 miles roundtrip. My kids are 13 and 9 and they had a blast. The path is paved and pretty level the whole way. There are also benches along the path for taking nice water breaks. Once in Woodward, you come off the path right in a park area and there is a nice bar & grill where we had lunch before our return. The highlight is the bridge. You get fabulous views from the bridge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Ride with a shuttle from Jerod !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Labor day weekend ride. We biked the trail from westward to ankeny thanks to a shuttle from Jerod from Bike Country bike shop in Ankeny. I called the bike shop a few weeks before our trip and jerod agreed to shuttle us via my mini van to westward for a very fair price. Jerod is 17 and a great guy. we met at 8:30am at a parking lot across the street from the bike country shop. Jerod was great and he loves biking.
The Trail and Bridge were Great! The trail is concrete paved and smooth for about half way and blacktop the rest of the way into ankeny. we stoped in at the night hawk (?) bar for a cool drink. great place right on the trail. we had a head wind most of the way but that just makes the DQ treat tastes that much better. We biked into ankeny and to our mini van thanks to Jerod !! GREAT TRAIL !! THANKS JEROD !!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Scenic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Rode my bike from Woodward to Madrid. The trail was easy to navigate. The view from the bridge is spectacular. Wish that there was a way to park somewhat near so that I could take my aging mother who loves nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Trestle Trail also viewed

 

Been to High Trestle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Trestle Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.