We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re: Management Not Available” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   201 SE Delaware Ave., Ankeny, IA 50021 (Formerly Heartland Inn Ankeny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Dyersville, Iowa
1 review
“Re: Management Not Available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

During my entire 5 days stay the guest computer was down. I am a small business owner and depend on motel computers to keep me up to date. Quest computer availibility is part of the advertisement for Quality Inn & Suites; this is part of the package. I could have stayed at a more ecomical motel across the street. If you can not deliver;, then rent a computer like the rest of the world has to. Please deliver what you advertise. When I tried to contact the manager by email and phone after my stay all I got was the run-a-round. I do not like to vent to the staff; because the staff was GREAT, the rooms clean, the breakfast passable( bad fruit). This is the first bad review I have given in 10 years of traveling business.

Room Tip: Check on the services available at the time of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with how your stay went. The property is under new management since the spring and I have been emphasizing improved customer service in all areas of the hotel, including having myself on call 24/7 for any issues. We hope you will stay with us in the future and allow us to fully meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
3
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha NE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We attended the Iowa-Iowa State game and the Ames hotels were charging outrageous rates. We opted to stay in Ankeny and the location was perfect. Ankeny gets you out of the downtown Des Moines traffic and Ames is a straight shot north. We had our choice of restaurants within a short distance.
Our room (on the 3rd floor) was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was good (biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, donuts, etc.) and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The only negatives I can remember....the pool area is like a sauna. I know many are that way, but this is exceptionally hot and humid. We had to prop the outside door open and sit next to it while the kids swam. Also, some of the hallways seemed very dark. Neither is a deal breaker....would stay again in a minute.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad to hear that your stay was mostly positive. We strive to give our guests the best service possible! We are in the process of updated our lighting in all public areas to help brighten up the building. Unfortunately, the windows in the pool room don’t open so it gets quite warm in there during the summer. We hope to see you here again, perhaps in a cooler season when the warm pool room is a relief rather than an uncomfortable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We visited Ankeny for a family reunion, and were looking for the best deal in a hotel for 2 nights. First driving up, we could tell the hotel was an older building, looked plain. The garbage cans at each entrance were always overflowing every time I walked in. Walking inside it looks as though they've done quite a bit of work to upgrade. The staff was quite friendly at the front desk. The continental breakfast looked good, and our family liked it (we never ate breakfast there). Our room looked like it had been refurbished recently with new furniture, fixtures, etc. However the shower head was terrible with low flow, and the selector for different sprays was stuck. The beds were comfortable. We were sleeping when the cleaning folks came by and so I called around 11am to ask for someone to come by and clean up for us, and the desk said no problem. When we came back at 9pm no one had been by. The pool was very small and really humid. They had some extra machine in there to try to dehumidify the room, but it wasn't working. We didn't spend much time at the hotel, and it got the job done as far as a comfortable bed. However we won't be going back there, as there are many other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not fully meet your expectations. Our new manager has been emphasizing customer service in all areas of the property, including housekeeping and front desk responsiveness to guest needs. We hope you will stay with us again and give us a chance to provide a good experience for your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, MN.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed here with one of my golf buddies for one night. Rooms are nice size. Beds are very comfortable. I didn't notice any freeway noise. The room was clean other than I think the maids are too short :) There was a lot of dust on top of the armoire which would be difficult for someone under 6’ to reach. The only other issue was the wall paper in the lobby/breakfast area. It was falling down in a few places. Looked like a bad installation. Good help is sometimes hard to find I guess. All that being said, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment. We are glad to hear that your experience at our hotel was mostly positive. We are under new management, and our manager has emphasized customer service in all areas of the hotel including maintenance and housekeeping. We have also been recently renovated, including hallway paint, updated room décor, and new beds! We hope that you will stop in again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis< IN
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. I didn't use the indoor pool but it looked clean. Staff was friendly and helpful and there was a good breakfast with waffles, biscuits and gravy as well as all the regular items. Even got a couple of warm cookies when checking in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience in our hotel, and we look forward to having you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, ia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

They had a great breakfast with biscuits and gravy and waffles. They were very clean and the staff was nice and freindly. Great price.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since then our property has been refurbished and is under new management. We hope you will allow us to welcome you on another visit so you can see how we’ve changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 201 SE Delaware Ave., Ankeny, IA 50021 (Formerly Heartland Inn Ankeny)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.