We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1610 SE Oralabor Road, Ankeny, IA 50021   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Clean room, friendly staff and very accommodating. I would definitely stay in this hotel again because the staff was so friendly. Good breakfast. We needed to wash kids clothes and were able to do so on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello George S

Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor, your feedback is very important to us. We are glad that your stay was a good one and look forward to seeing you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    34
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
19
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willmar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I found this hotel to be clean and recently updated, the beds to be comfortable, rooms to be fairly quiet and the breakfast selection to be the expected ( scrabbled eggs, waffles, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, etc... for a lower price than other hotel chains offering such amenities. All in all this is the norm for americinns. The only suggestion for improvement would be the toilet seat was slightly loose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Gerald S

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry about the loose toilet seat. We do regular maintenance checks but must have missed that. We hope will see you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed one night in the accessible room. The room/lobby/hotel was clean & well maintained.
We didn't try the breakfast. The desk staff was helpful. It was a good location with restaurants nearby. No complaints, except for me, the pillows are very firm to my taste.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Chaortl,

Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had a good stay with us and hope that you will come and see us again.

Juile GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is one of the better AmericInns that I have stayed in. Much better than the one just 15 miles north in Ames. Our stay was pleasant, the halls were quiet, the staff was very friendly, and the room was clean. Only two complaints would be that the temperature of the hot tub was way too hot and a few of the breakfast items did not seem fresh. Good fruit selection at breakfast though so that was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Kate M

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As always I am passing this along to my staff. We hope to see you in the future.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I first stayed at AmericInn in Ankeny back in March. I was very impressed with the front desk staff, the cleanliness of the room, and the free breakfast.

Because of my good experience, I decided to spend the extra money to stay at AmericInn again last weekend even though there were much cheaper options. We had to stay in a King Suite because that's all that was available so it was $150 a night.

The breakfast was even better this time around, but that's where the positives end. The room was not very clean. I was already turned off when I opened the coffee maker and saw bits of "stuff" inside the water reservoir. No clue what it was. However, that was nothing compared to finding children's underpants in the lampshade. We don't have children.

I told the girl at the front desk and she apologized, but that was about it. Perhaps it was a busier weekend than usual, but in the future, I'll save my money and try another hotel. Definitely not worth the $300.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Bree S

Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor, your feedback is important to us. I am terrible sorry about the issues you had when you stayed. We have working more intensively with housekeeping to avoid any such issues. If you would ever decide to give us another opportunity please contact me at the hotel and I will see that you recieve a discount and a free upgrade. Thank you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked our softball team into this hotel at the last minute and was immediately impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the person who helped with our reservations. Much of our team arrived before I did, and all feedback was postive even before I checked in. Upon arrival, we were able to check in a little early, and everything was clean, fresh and pleasant. Botton line, it was a great stay and we will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Jill H,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, our guests are our top priorty. I appreciate the staff compliments and will pass them along. We hope we will see you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for a family weekend getaway. I was a little apprehensive at first because we have never stayed at this chain before. When I made the reservation, I received a great rate. The clerk also informed me they had no elevators so she would put us on ground level which I appreciate with 3 kids. I also mentioned we would need a cot, she would make a note, but could not guarantee us one because of the first come, first serve basis. Fair enough. Check in was a breeze, and to our surprise, a cot was waiting for us in our room. Wow! Sometimes it's just the little things that leave the biggest impression! We liked the open feeling of the lobby area. The pool and spa impressed us by being the largest we have ever come across. Nice stretched out design. Spa rules are enforced, no children under 12, which ok, I get, but my 7 year old really loves the warm water and I didn't see anything wrong with him sitting on the edge as long as an adult was around. It was kind of bummer, but whatever.
The fitness room is tiny, a treadmill and a bicycle, but the treadmill did the trick for us. If you're huge on fitness, make other arrangements.
Overall, we were pleasantly surprised.
If I had to be picky, I would say they could step up the cleaning a bit. (Ex: wrappers, straws, beside coffee display was left on the floor beside garbage can for too long.) Also some of the coffee carafes were broken; they would pump slowly and one lever would always break. But, that's being picky. We did see workers cleaning the windows and counters which was nice to see.
We would stay again. Great location and friendly staff! Keep up the good work, customers do notice.

Room Tip: Nice room décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
DMichelle312,

Thank you for the review, it is important to get guest feedback so that we may know where to improve. I glad your check in and stay were pleasant. We will step up on our cleaning. We hope to see you in the future. Thanks again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny

Address: 1610 SE Oralabor Road, Ankeny, IA 50021
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ankeny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.