We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - great hotel, location, and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Ankeny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Ankeny to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Ankeny
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 SE Tones Drive, Ankeny, IA 50021   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect - great hotel, location, and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were very happy in this hotel - we were set up in it via Priceline so we got a great deal on the room. Our itinerary included Advetureland, Living History Farms, the railroad in Boone, and the Iowa State Fair, and this location was convenient to all. It is situated on a small lake which makes for pretty views out the windows. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or spa (which both looked very nice) but did use the fitness center, which had better quality equipment than most of the other hotels we stayed in this road trip.

The breakfast was very good as well, with different hot options the two days we were there, plus standard waffles, cereal, pasteries, etc.

All and all we were very happy with this 2-night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
9
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We booked two rooms here for three kids and three adults. Are intentions were to have some fun for the kids to swim in the pool and to get our minds off of our recent loss of our Grandma/ Great Grandma. The pool and spa are great, very clean and the perfect temperatures. The problem was that a girls basketball team checked in around 9:30pm and did not know how to politely shut doors. I called down to the desk once and they said they would take care of it, that never happened. When we called back a second time, no one answered after several rings. After finally falling asleep with the help of a sleep aid, all was OK. When I woke up to more door slamming at 7:30am I was pissed. I went downstairs to get breakfast with my neice and the whole breakfast area was swarming with a teenage girls basketball team, the same one with a lack of manners. I had to wait two hours till we could eat.

The hotel wasn't terrible except the hotel staff needs to take care of the other guests not just obnoxious sports teams. I would never stay
here again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBowen01, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
I would love to discuss your concerns with your stay. Please call me a 515 965 2646 and I would be happy to discuss your concerns. Thank you for staying at the Country Inn Ankeny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010 via mobile

The Country Inn in Ankeny is right off I-35. It's nicely designed, with a pleasant view of a pond. Our room is comfortable and spacious, with good beds, a fridge, and coffee maker. The pool area (very important to a certain 7-year-old contituency) is bright, warm, and airy, and the pool is clean. The free breakfast includes bacon, eggs, potatoes, and waffles, even midweek in the off-season. As a woman traveling alone with little kids, I felt safe. I don't much like motels, but this one is well-done.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I love most Country Inn & Suites hotels, so this hotel was a strong contender for a place for family to stay for our son's wedding. However, this hotel has a policy that the rooms must be held by credit card. We checked with several other hotels in the area and no other hotel has this policy. Management's attitude was bordering on belligerent, and definitely not tactful. Found another nearby hotel that is glad to get our business.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were uncomfortable in the Comfort Inn in this business park, so we checked into this one for the weekend.

The cookies in the lobby are the. best. ever.

The room was well appointed, attractive and clean.

Its only downfall was the bathroom with its uber-cheap fixtures, overhead flourescent lighting (ACK!) peeling wall paper and sloppy grout and paint and caulk fixes. HOWEVER, it beat not having the repairs made at all. The sink stopper was lying in the sink; the tub would be great for bating pets or small children or perhaps even little people. I think the only smaller ones I've seen have been in campers. The towel allotment was pretty stingy (two) considering their thinness.

Extra pillows for the comfy bed made for a good night's sleep. Outback Steak House is right in the business park. IHOP and a number of fast food places are within a 2 minute drive acrpss the interstate.

Walgreens (open til 10 pm) is nearby, as are Menards, Home Depot, Target and other shops. Just minutes to Des Moines - I would happily stay here again..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

I stayed at this location during a winter storm. Nick the front desk clerk was very nice. If you have to talk to anyone up there talk to him, The other staff members were more concerned about doing the job, rather than making me as a guest happy. Everyone was still very cheerful.

The room itself was beautiful. I was told they had just completed a remodel of the entire hotel and you can tell. The room was a little pricey, but you get a lot with it. you get internet, free breakfast...and it is huge. Free cookies and hot coffee.

The area is great too. There are lots of restaraunts and plenty of places to get the things you need when stranded and it was so much fun swimming in thier super warm pool while it snowed out the windows all around us. I reccommend this place to anyone that needs a place traveling along I35

  • Liked — Breakfast and the great people.
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

A standard but nicely appointed Country Inn and Suites hotel. We booked by telephone "on the road" late in the evening and arrived at almost 11pm. Friendly staff and a an excellent, if typical motel-style, room. Breakfast was sparse but adequate (if you ignore the hot food). Very adequate for a quick overnight stay.

  • Liked — -Clean, efficient and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, given the type of hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Ankeny

Address: 2510 SE Tones Drive, Ankeny, IA 50021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ankeny
Ankeny Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Ankeny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.