We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly Worth the Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daly Creek Winery & Bistro

Daly Creek Winery & Bistro
106 North Ford Street, Anamosa, IA 52205
+1 319-462-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Anamosa
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, French, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Featuring handcrafted wines and Chef-prepared gourmet entrees and desserts made with the freshest of ingredients, Daly Creek Winery & Bistro has been enticing travelers from across the country and around the world to this quaint little town.
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Certainly Worth the Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am a self admitted wine snob. I really want to enjoy Iowa wines, grapes grown in Iowa. I just can't. However, Daly Creek does bring in grape juice from California to make some of their wines. Daly Creek does a very nice job with several of their wines, including their signature wine Penitentiary Red.

Beyond the good wines, Daly Creek has a small bistro. I have eaten here on several occasions. Every meal has been very good. From the Tuscan meatloaf to the 12 layer lasagna to the pizza, Daly Creek does a very nice job of recreating some Italian staples.

Last but certainly not least, the owners of Daly Creek are very nice people. They have a passion for what they do. I have enjoyed speaking with them.

If I have any issues, it is that the outdoor restaurant area needs a little TLC. It just looks worn.

That should not stop anyone from making the journey to Daly Creek, Make a day trip to Anamosa. Have lunch and taste some good wines. Not a bad way to spend a day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anamosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Anamosa Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wonderful service and great food… oh the wines not bad either. The restaurant is attached to the winery and it is excellent. I have never had a mediocre meal there. They all have been stellar. The Italian dishes on the menu are great but there are no bad choices here. I hope this does not cause this wonderful little restaurant to become over crowed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in a small Iowa town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Daly Creek has a wonderful chef who produces delicious specials that go beyond the published menu. The meal starts with the most amazing bread service with warm crusty bread and spicy or sweet dip. The wines complement the meals beautifully. A favorite is the pomegranate. The chicken marsala is always well done. A great finish to the meal is the creme brulee.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
638 reviews 638 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 228 cities Reviews in 228 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Outstanding Wine and Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were brought here by friends and were really surprised by the quality of this restaurant. Atmosphere is friendly white table cloth. No liquor is available, only wine and beer. We tasted wines at the counter prior to eating and were pleased with the quality of their locally made Virgo Moon red (juice imported from California). A service of freshly baked bread with olive oil, herbs, and parmesan cheese was outstanding in quality. We could have made a meal by itself between the wonderful wine and fresh crusty bread with olive oil. We enjoyed a very generous Caesar salad with properly made dressing. Dishes of Steak Oscar and a hanger steak were nicely composed and perfectly cooked. The Steak Oscar included king crab meat, a Bernaise sauce, asparagus, and excellent mashed potatoes. For desert we shared a creme brulee and pumpking and raspberry cheesecakes, all excellent. It was a relatively simple meal but everything was masterfully done. Prices were amazingly low; the meal for four including two bottles of excellent wine was only $150 before tax and tip. Definitely an excellent place for dinner in Anamosa.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful local surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We came here to eat, as we're looking for local restaurants that are new to us. Checked Trip Advisor and found this lovely place. The mood inside is wonderful, loved the music, and the lighting was just right. Our server, Christy, was very friendly and wasn't too over or under attentive.
As for the food - delicious. I probably could've just eaten their freshly baked (still steaming hot) bread dipped in the buttered oil, with our choice of seasonings. (We purchased an extra loaf to bring home.) My fettuccini with meatballs had just a taste of sweetness to go with the sauce, and my husband's steak was cooked to perfection, not to mention tender. The portions were generous with everything we ordered.
It was a quiet night there, I'm guessing due to the high school's football game, so we were seated right away. This is an experience I'll look forward to repeating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daly Creek Winery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Daly Creek Winery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daly Creek Winery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.