We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Motorcycle Museum

National Motorcycle Museum
102 Chamber Drive, Anamosa, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Anamosa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you love motorcycles and their history this is a must see, clean and organized, plan on a few hours to take it all in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eufaula, ok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super, super, super!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Absolutely terrific museum. The organization of the motorcycles and memorabilia was superb!! The personnel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Benches scattered throughout for when you needed to sit - like me!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
205 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Lots of motorcycles....seems....disorganized a bit?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our little group of four were really looking forward to seeing the museum. While a great mecca of motorcycles to view, the organization of them seemed a bit disheveled and kind of thrown together. I could really detect no rhyme or reason to the layout....and consequently, found that I just kind of breezed by the motorcycles admiring certain ones and enjoying the special spread on Evil Knievel. There were some unique bikes there and even the two motorcycles that I learned to ride upon. I think with more of a semblance of a time line of the bikes, or some more logical layout, this could even be a better representation of motorcycling history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Over 400 motorcycles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This museum use to be in Sturigs but when the new owner took over he moved it to Anamosa where he lives. The museum is right off the highway and is $8 per person. You pay and enter through the gift shop. There are over 400 bikes ranging from the early 1900s all the way up to modern times. Some bikes have been restored while others still sport their original paint. There are all kinds of bikes and the place does a great job giving the history as well as specs on them. We spent an hour and a half here and had a great time. If you find yourself in the area this museum is well worth a morning or afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a late review of our US road trip in the summer of 2012. We visited the Motorcycle Museum in July 2012. The museum was laid out not only in time, but later in manufacturers. It was interesting to see the early (wooden) motorcycles, as well as the latest motorcycles. Included were motorcycles from movies, as well as racing and record setting motorcycles. There were a number of motorcycle novelties as well as early bicycles. The only downside was the size of the buiding which required the motorcycles to be really bunched close together.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Motorcycle Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Motorcycle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Motorcycle Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.