We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give Hampton Inn - Ames a higher rating, but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ames

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ames to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 S. Dayton Place, Ames, IA 50010   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Ames
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wish I could give Hampton Inn - Ames a higher rating, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family stayed at this Hampton Inn for one night recently. Location is convenient, and within easy driving distance to the best restaurant in Ames, Hickory Park. Check in was very fast.
The room was clean, but we were disappointed that it lacked a mini-fridge which we really needed for milk for our infant. I didn't know there were Hampton's that did not have a fridge in the room??

This is an older Hampton Inn with sprawling hallways, you do a lot of walking. Pool area was ok, but no hot tub. Breakfast was solid with typical Hampton fare. I paid $132 + tax for the night and this was a corp. rate. For Ames, IA, this rate is very high. For that reason, and esp. for the fridge issue, I cannot rate above average BUT also cannot say to avoid this Hampton Inn because it does serve its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
50
18
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln University, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was dirty! Airconditioner was very noisy. Carpet needs to be cleaned on some frequency. Overall there are many nice things about this hotel (pool, location, lobby). Just needs to take some care and attention to the quality of cleanliness to attract business clients.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ames, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a VERY dated Hampton Inn. Don't get me wrong, you receive your typical amenities (breakfast, wi-fi, etc...), but I still wasn't impressed. I think part of my 2 star rating is simply because of the location.....Ames, IA. The staff clearly have not worked in a "real city" hotel. Everything moves at their slow pace. They aren't doing anything wrong, but when a traveler like myself is in New York City every other week, I tend to grow a little impatient when I am in a small town like Ames. The rooms are dated and tired. I don't think this franchise has any plans to renovate until Hilton threatens to pull their flag.

With that being said, I will stay here the next time I am in Ames. I don't want to completely steer travelers away from this hotel because the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable, the wi-fi works, the breakfast is good (typical Hampton breakfast), etc... I just don't want travelers thinking they are going to get a "5 diamond" experience while staying here. And that is just because of the location...middle of nowhere...i.e. Ames, IA.

Room Tip: The hallways are long and there is only 1 elevator (to my knowledge). You may want to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel was ok. Housekeeping was poor. The room was not properly cleaned and the beds were not made. We stayed here because there were no rooms in Des Moines with two beds. There was not always someone at the desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Close to Iowa State University and Ames. Good number of restaurants in the area: I particularly liked Pizza Ranch and Hickory Park for their authenticity. The nearby Azteca Mexican place, however, is not remembered so fondly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau claire WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice place to stay! The outside looks alittle outdated but they are in the process of re-doing the outside. Everything inside is clean and fresh! Rooms are very quiet ..... when we were there they was a girls basketball tournament in town so was worried about giggling girls running through the halls late at night but did not hear a thing! The breakfast was great .... omlets, sausage patties, home fried potatoes, waffles, HOT OATMEAL (first time I have ever seen that in a motel) and plenty of fresh fruit and bagels/muffins.pastries. Am planning on staying there next week on the return trip to home .... so I guess you can say I liked it and will return!

Room Tip: I always request a upper floor room to try to avoid noise of people above but I think all rooms ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odessa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Overall experience was satisfactory in all areas. Convenient location for Iowa State camp. Room available prior to stated check in time which was nice. Didn't spend much time in room other than to sleep. Cool and quiet environment. Nice television with HBO and wifi in room. Double beds seem really small especially if we would have been traveling with all four in our family however they were comfortable with good pillows. Breakfast was fine, standard selection. Nice decor in loby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ames

Address: 1400 S. Dayton Place, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ames
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ames 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at our Hampton a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton Worldwide portfolio of brands, you can earn Hilton HHonors hotel points for your stay. Hampton guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House hot breakfast with delicious offerings, high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and complimentary amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton. We Love Having You Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.