We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!!!! Service Not so Much!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
1520 S Dayton Ave, Ames, IA 50010
(515) 232-0116
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 164 Restaurants in Ames
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food!!!! Service Not so Much!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Waiter was loud, impatient, rude and unhelpful!
He never took the time to really find out what we wanted and then just slapped down the drinks and food as he ran by. It was almost like he had a chip on his shoulder. My wife wanted all cheese and no red sauce on her enchiladas. He challenged her with, "You gonna pay extra?" she said, "Of course!"
He pointedly turned to me for my order before she was through talking!
He seed to take umbrage with the fact we only wanted water.
He did seem to try to make himself more pleasant as the meal progressed.
FOOD WAS FANTASTIC!!!
I ordered the "Lupe" Enchiladas. Very very good!
We will return but will ask for a different waiter

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Margaritas. Eat elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Food was like dog food and had the consistency of baby food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only Mexican Restaurant we will eat at,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We tried the others and have learned our lesson, we really like El Azteca and this is the ONLY Mexican Restaurant we will go to now.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Food is good but their margaritas are great! Perfect alcohol mix, especially compared to some places in ames that try to save money by skimping on the alcohol.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is the best place to go when you've got no time for lunch. I went with two coworkers, all three of us ordered from the lunch menu. We were in and out in about 20 minutes! The food is always great, service is incredibly fast and friendly. Because I got water, my lunch was under $6. Heaping plate of food, plus endless chips and salsa... we were all ready for naps when we left. Love this place, we will continue to go and advise everyone else we know to go as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.