We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Starlite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Starlite to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 East 13th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The beds were clean and comfortable. The plumbing worked and we had clean towels. The security safe in the room also worked, as did the AC. So, if that's all you need, this hotel will satisfy your needs. But before you go, here are some other things you should know. The outside periphery doors were set up for keyed-entry, but they weren't locked. In other words, the bldg was open to the public all night long through every door. I'm a "Choice Hotels" member, and use their facilities often. I've never had to park so far away from a bldg as we did when arriving back at our room at ~11:00 P.M. The wi-fi didn't work. Not late Saturday evening, or in the morning on Sunday. The problem was the hotel's. When I brought this to the front-desk's attention, the young woman on duty gave me a number for someone named "Omar" at Iowa St Univ. We were getting ready to leave and wanted to check the weather. I did not call Omar. In fact, we didn't officially check out because the desk clerk's computer was "running slow," so she was just taking names and room numbers from guests who were turning in keys. She, the desk clerk, seemed pretty out of sorts. Back to our arrival, the room we were initially assigned had a security safe that didn't work, and the bathtub was full of water because the plug had been left closed and the faucet was dripping. We moved to another room. The worst part of the experience was breakfast. They had to people working to staff the breakfast buffet, but they couldn't keep up with the demand. My wife is a tea drinker. She went to the hot-water thermos to get some water for her tea, and it was ice cold. When she pointed that out to one of the employees, she was told "the hot water is being use for the coffee," so my wife was sent down the hall to the athletic training facility to get hot water out of the tap on the Culligan dispenser, which worked, but. . . . The final thing, this is the first Choice Hotel I've been to in YEARS that didn't have a coffee pot set out for the guests w/ 24-hr coffee available. We went looking for one at check-out time, and were sent to the breakfast buffet (which had been over for about an hour) where we found two empty coffee dispenser and employees in no hurry to replace them. I find it rather amusing, yet sad, that we were in a town w/ a supposed top-notch technical university and the hotel couldn't get its computers to function competently, nor did they appear to have anyone on site with any kind of technical expertise.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, make it sure it works before paying for your room! Oh, and don't stay by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
18
7
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family was very happy with the room and the layout of the hotel. The indoor pool setup was situated in the middle of the hotel and had ample seating. Breakfast was excellent and refilled quickly. Plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I will say the lobby area is very nice. The breakfast area is fine. But rooms are very so-so. Hallway is a bit shabby, too. The bathroom is beyond tiny. No vanity area. Sink is separate from tub/toilet, but that area is in dire need of attention. Definite lack of plugs in the room.
Room was freezing COLD when we entered, brrrrr. What a waste of energy. Took over an hour to get to comfortable zone!
I've never stayed anywhere where there was a 1/2 used lotion bottle and there might have been 6 tissues left in the box. Sad state of housekeeping.
Only stayed one night, that was enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The only nice aspects were the small pool and area around it. The hotel was dirty. My room had cracks in the dry wall. The room had a lazyboy recliner in it that I would not recommend sitting it due to impossibility of cleaning this type of furniture. I went to Kmart and bought folding chairs to sit in. The rooms were small and did not have either a microwave or a refrigerator. The only elevator there has cracks in the flooring. The breakfast was the same everyday for the three days we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnolds park
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Quality Inn has recently been remodeled. The hotel is quiet, very clean and has an attached bar/restaurant. It's on the north side of Ames, but essentially all attractions are a short drive and easily accessible.
The wireless worked well, flat screen tv with cable, mattresses were comfortable, bedding was recently updated, etc.
The hotel staff were more than accommodating and gracious hosts.

Room Tip: No complaints.. it's a fairly quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 as a couple. The fellow at the front desk (Zak) was very rote in his comments, brief, and I wouldn't call him overly friendly. That's where the pleasant experience ends.

Our room was on third floor, We entered the elevator, floor tiles crumbling and door making loud noises. Not a good first impression. Third floor STUNK! Musty, smelly stink. Our room was at the end of the hallway. As we entered, again the stench of musty room jumped out at us. The beds were comfortable, had enough pillows, and we slept well. The chair had an uncertain white stain which made us a little uncomfortable. As for the bathroom -- I didn't like sitting in the dark to use the toilet, but the light did not work. The bathroom sink drain did not work well, one had to shut off the faucet and allow it to drain.

We went for the 'breakfast', and it was just nasty. Greasy, few items, etc. We have had far greater breakfasts in hotels, this was very sub-par but would have potential if they stocked supplies and actually had food in there.

Overall, it was not a pleasant experience and I would not stay here again. Maybe if they re-do the entire hotel and do some basic maintenance!

Room Tip: Stay away from third floor, the musty smell permeates the entire floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013. I was on the second floor and the toilet in the room was broken and did not flush. I was moved to the first floor. During breakfast I found out the hard way that the Orange Juice was soured and the breakfast items were warm at best. The pool water was very cloudy and had stuff floating in it. by the time I left the pool was clear and cleaned. Also, they made multiple errors on my bill and it was very difficult to understand. Needless to say, as a Choice member, I will not be staying at this hotel in the future and I recommend that others search out better hotels in the Ames Area.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn Express across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Starlite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Starlite

Address: 2601 East 13th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Starlite 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Starlite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ames
Ames Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Ames, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Starlite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.