We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Starlite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Starlite to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 East 13th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I will say the lobby area is very nice. The breakfast area is fine. But rooms are very so-so. Hallway is a bit shabby, too. The bathroom is beyond tiny. No vanity area. Sink is separate from tub/toilet, but that area is in dire need of attention. Definite lack of plugs in the room.
Room was freezing COLD when we entered, brrrrr. What a waste of energy. Took over an hour to get to comfortable zone!
I've never stayed anywhere where there was a 1/2 used lotion bottle and there might have been 6 tissues left in the box. Sad state of housekeeping.
Only stayed one night, that was enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    9
    14
    6
See reviews for
21
7
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The only nice aspects were the small pool and area around it. The hotel was dirty. My room had cracks in the dry wall. The room had a lazyboy recliner in it that I would not recommend sitting it due to impossibility of cleaning this type of furniture. I went to Kmart and bought folding chairs to sit in. The rooms were small and did not have either a microwave or a refrigerator. The only elevator there has cracks in the flooring. The breakfast was the same everyday for the three days we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnolds park
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Quality Inn has recently been remodeled. The hotel is quiet, very clean and has an attached bar/restaurant. It's on the north side of Ames, but essentially all attractions are a short drive and easily accessible.
The wireless worked well, flat screen tv with cable, mattresses were comfortable, bedding was recently updated, etc.
The hotel staff were more than accommodating and gracious hosts.

Room Tip: No complaints.. it's a fairly quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 as a couple. The fellow at the front desk (Zak) was very rote in his comments, brief, and I wouldn't call him overly friendly. That's where the pleasant experience ends.

Our room was on third floor, We entered the elevator, floor tiles crumbling and door making loud noises. Not a good first impression. Third floor STUNK! Musty, smelly stink. Our room was at the end of the hallway. As we entered, again the stench of musty room jumped out at us. The beds were comfortable, had enough pillows, and we slept well. The chair had an uncertain white stain which made us a little uncomfortable. As for the bathroom -- I didn't like sitting in the dark to use the toilet, but the light did not work. The bathroom sink drain did not work well, one had to shut off the faucet and allow it to drain.

We went for the 'breakfast', and it was just nasty. Greasy, few items, etc. We have had far greater breakfasts in hotels, this was very sub-par but would have potential if they stocked supplies and actually had food in there.

Overall, it was not a pleasant experience and I would not stay here again. Maybe if they re-do the entire hotel and do some basic maintenance!

Room Tip: Stay away from third floor, the musty smell permeates the entire floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013. I was on the second floor and the toilet in the room was broken and did not flush. I was moved to the first floor. During breakfast I found out the hard way that the Orange Juice was soured and the breakfast items were warm at best. The pool water was very cloudy and had stuff floating in it. by the time I left the pool was clear and cleaned. Also, they made multiple errors on my bill and it was very difficult to understand. Needless to say, as a Choice member, I will not be staying at this hotel in the future and I recommend that others search out better hotels in the Ames Area.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn Express across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
418 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here four nights last week. Easy place to find. They are renovating and the place is looking good. Breakfast is good in the am, and the area to east it in is nicely organized and the tables and chairs are in good shape. Our room faced the pool, and there was noise and a bit of light from the courtyard got into our room which took a little getting used to. Other than that things were fine. Nice layout in the room makes it possible to cool the room without freezing out the persons in the bed closest to the a/c unit. Everyone was very nice and professional---nice people work here. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I found myself traveling through Ames, IA. Had some business in a nearby town very early in the morning before I flew out of DSM.

Went to the hotel area off of highway 30 and Interstate 35.

There was not a room to be found due to some local events.

Finally drove through town and saw this place. Luckily they had one left.

Front deal guy was very courteous and helpful.

Room was decent, probably could have used a once over by the cleaning service. There were a few little areas that weren't up to par.

Lots of noise in the hallways. Doors slamming and loud people. That can't be blamed on the hotel.

Very easy access from interstate. Lots of parking.

All in all, it was a good place to stay. Will consider it again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ames
Hampton Inn Ames
#10 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#6 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 19 in Ames
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Starlite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Starlite

Address: 2601 East 13th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Starlite 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Starlite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ames
Ames Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Ames, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Starlite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.