We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Starlite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Starlite to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 East 13th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Never Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I normally don't give out bad reviews on hotels, but I am sorry to say that the impression that one gets at the front desk makes or breaks the hotel. When asked what time the restaurant closed adjoining the hotel the girl at the front desk said 10:00 P.M. Since we arrived about 8:30, we had plenty of time to get our luggage, take a shower after a more than 350 miles driving day before heading to the restaurant. At about 9:10 we headed in that direction, only to be told at the restaurant's bar that the restaurant closed at 9:00! We again went back to the front desk to inform the girl there about the closing and she had all she could do to glance up at us and say (again) that it was open until 10:00. She was being rude and seemed as though she didn't want to be there, much less treat the customer with any respect. A fast food restaurant doesnt cut it after a long day! Don't stay here...go across the street! Never again will I stay at THIS hotel.

Room Tip: There is an inside (open)pool in the middle of the hotel so the chlorine smell is both hard on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    8
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
6
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algona, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked my room directly through the hotel and had them send me an email confirmation. When I arrived the price quoted and contained in the confirmation email was different then the price they were trying to charge. Apparently "corporate" adds on another $5(ish) charge for the safe in your room "in case you use it". I felt it was somewhat dishonest policy to quote a price with taxes included in a confirmation email and then add on an additional charge after the fact. I questioned the change in price. After much discussion the staff did take off the charge. Also I arrived at night. Upon entering the room I closed the curtains, and when I went to got in bed the curtains did not cover the entire window. The crack was only about one to two inches. I was on ground floor so I was able watch as the headlights from a car parked in front of my window and a couple got out of their vehicle. I complained the next day to the manager. She said they would take care of it when I returned to my room that evening nothing had been done. I felt my privacy was compromised and the staff did nothing to resolve the issue. Overall when I walked in the door the lobby had an odor. The overall hotel felt old but appeared relatively clean. The facilities for the conference were fine. There was a problem with audio that the hotel staff corrected quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and needed two rooms next to each other and requested our rooms be close to another party. The staff did an excellent job of accommodating us. When we arrived, one of the rooms didn't smell like a non-smoking room and the staff was able to rearrange rooms so that all our 'closeness' remained intact. The hotel was undergoing some interior renovations, but nothing that disturbed our stay. Room was very clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Exercise facility was quite adequate for a good, moderate workout. Location right off of I-35 made it very convenient for travel to/from the airport. Breakfast was very good and well laid out. Only complaint was that the pool was really, really cold. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night here during a convention. Staff was very pleasant and professional except for the breakfast lady who yelled at me. The bathroom is a nightmare. The tub was awful.The regulator for the water temperature didnt work and the drain is in a ridiculous place in the middle of the tub. Very dangerous and illegal because there are no anti skid strips in the bottom. The sink height was made for midgets. The sheets were hard and scratchy. There were flies in the room that bit me all night. The bedspread felt dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was the 2nd worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was awful, bedspread was dirty, bedskirts were ripped, sheets on 1 bed looked like they had been slept in. Bathroom was in bad need of a scrub brush. When we took a shower wads of black hair came up from the drain, the area around the drain was black with mold - glad we had shower shoes to use. Hall area was dirty - there was food on the floor in the hall right next to the door of our room - pool area was dirty and pool water was very cloudy, looked disgusting. Breakfast area was a greasy mess. The waffle irons were so slimmy you were afraid to touch them. Looked so bad we decided to skip breakfast. Were told to use back entrance to get to room - door did not lock - cribs and garbage fill the entire enterance area - garbage was all over parking lot - area around dumpsters looked like a landfil. Seriously thinking for pitching my Pro-choice hotel card after this stay. Finding their hotels are very pricey for such terrible DUMPS!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnolds park
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is an older hotel that is in the process of receiving an exterior facelift! My room was very pleasant, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well kept. It's not a Hilton and the furnishings are again clean, but not the most up to date. Overall, I would stay again.

Room Tip: This is an adequate hotel room, with very friendly staff and an attached bar/grill available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit to Ames to tour the university. We were a family of four. The only good news was that our rooms were next to each other. Everything else about our stay was no better than 1 star. The coffee in the breakfast was the color of ginger ale. Everything else is 1980s and in dire need of complete renovation. A poor attempt to update the bath was a tub insert that made you step up more than eight inches so the shower head is good only if you are less than five foot eight inches. DO NOT GET A ROOM AROUND THE POOL. It is loud, and the glass offers no sound insulation. Doors were slamming all night. Staff was overwhelmed and constantly distracted. We were handed off during the check in and we watched another customer wait unattended to. We stayed based on the loyalty program with choice hotels and some positive reviews. We have no idea how such positivity could be gleaned from this hotel. Look elsewhere in Ames. Sorry Choice Hotels. This was disappointing at half the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Starlite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Starlite

Address: 2601 East 13th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Starlite 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Starlite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ames
Ames Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Ames, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Starlite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.