We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good place to stay in Ames.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2137 Isaac Newton Dr. SE 16th St., Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Williamsburg, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overall a good place to stay in Ames.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first night on the road of a week long vacation. We had just done the train ride in Boone and wanted to check in and the kids were ready for a dip in the pool. We are a family traveling with two children, ages 7 and 4. Check-in went smoothy, I can't complain of the price since this was a free stay for us as we had Marriott certificates to use before they expired. We checked in and after going out for dinner, we went down to the pool. The pool was small but warm enough to swim in. The hot tub was very hot and I couldn't stay in it. We had a nice swim and went up to get ready for bed. Unfortunately, the other guests in the hotel were very loud and noisy and we didn't get as good as sleep as we had hoped. I didn't consider that the hotel problem as much as the adults in charge of the team that was staying the same night we were there. The bed was surprisingly high which made me nervous as my 4 year old still rolls around quite a bit as she sleeps. I had to get up twice to push her back closer to the middle of the bed. The hotel has recently been remodeled and it was all very nice and clean and smelled good. The room seemed a tiny bit on the narrow side as there was not much room to move the cart in and out of the room. My husband raved about the height of the shower head and the good shower he had at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of items. My son loved the cinnamon rolls. But with many hotels, the staff can make your day by being friendly and answering questions. Whitney who was working the front desk that morning had a quick smile and made my morning better by being so friendly as I was trying to get us all up and out for our next adventure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
11
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickens, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Because of death in family and game and other event going on in Ames forced to stay here. Walls are thin can hear people talking in next room, can hear people walking down the hallways talking in a normal voice. Can hear people walking around in room above us.. AC broken so stays on very cold with high fan running so I had to unplug to get it to stop working. Doors are heavy so they slam shut loudly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

In Ames for the weekend for a basketball tournament. I had not stayed at a Fairfield before but was quite impressed with this one. It appears extremely new. There isn't a lot of places immediately nearby, but close enough. You could tell the newness by the softness of the carpet, especially in the hall ways. The rooms were very nice and I especially like the raised beds...a nice touch. The continental breakfast was typical...nothing out of this world, but good enough. The rooms were impeccable and the staff was very friendly. The $150 rate was high, but it seemed to be the going rate unless you wanted a motel type stay. I would certainly returm

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about booking this location coming from Wichita, KS. We checked in the night of the bad storms and it was a bit sketchy for awhile. We never lost power but could tell we were in the midst of a upper midwest thunderstorm. Being from Florida we are used to storms but not on this level. We barely got checked in and settled and all hell broke loose.

Checkin was uneventful I don't recall the young lady thanking me for being an Elite member although our keys indicated that. The room was nice and what I would expect from a Fairfield and wish they had the same layout here in Wausau, WI at the Fairfield. We had a nice night sleep after the storms moved through and woke up to a clear and sunny day. After being on the road I was exhausted so we didn't do the breakfast. Overall impressed with the hotel. They didn't have any supplies or drinks like they normally do at a fairfield.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Ames, IA area. My advice though is to get your drinks and sandwiches at the neighboring truck stop subway store. They didn't have anything in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is a good hotel. They made sure I knew in advance that they were going through some constructions and painting repairs in the lobby. I was in the second floor and I was able to hear people walking in the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. The first time was two years ago.

Nice, clean hotel. The employees are very friendly and helpful. We were there visiting family and stayed two nights.

It is VERY important to me that a hotel is clean and this hotel fit the bill! Other than construction/remodel stuff in the lobby area, the hotel was very orderly and clean.

The hotel is just finishing up with a remodel - the guest rooms are done and when we were there, they were finishing with the lobby and breakfast area. We were very happy with our room - it was completely updated and the bed was very comfortable. It was really nice to have a microwave and refrigerator in our room - with a 4 year old, we need that for snacks and leftovers from eating out.

Breakfast was nice - eggs, bacon, toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, milk, juice, yogurt, muffins....something for everyone. My 4 year old found something she liked and was happy and that is a big deal! The gal taking care of the breakfast area was very hard working and was continually refilling everything!

I would absolutely recommend this hotel! It is like new and the service really is great. We will stay again next time we visit!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor - our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed a night recently on a business trip. When I arrived there was lots of construction trailers and equipment parked out front. i was a bit uncertain as to whether they were open or under construction. When I walked in the lobby.....my view stayed the same, there was carpet and other materials everywhere, and lots of workers working.....but there was someone at the reception who greeted me.

They asked whether I knew they had remodeling going...and well I didn't. But as I learned it was the lobby area they were finishing up...the rooms were already complete.

I was very pleasantly surprised by the room. It was completely updated.

And when I checked out in the morning...the lobby was nearly complete, although when I arrived the afternoon before it was a disaster. I didn't stay for the morning breakfast...but instead chose to go to a nearby restaurant.

But I would recommend this hotel...it's like new, and the service I had was great.

Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Address: 2137 Isaac Newton Dr. SE 16th St., Ames, IA 50010
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ames
Fairfield Inn Ames
Fairfield Ames
Ames Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.