We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think studio Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Think studio Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is where I stayed for work. the internet was fast, room very clean. I was able to cook and the mattresses are comfortable, in fact it was new. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. The only negative is the elevator is slow and it could use a little tlc. It is an older hotel and is dated.

Room Tip: 3rd floor 308 was quiet with no A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
6
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We wound up here because we waited too long to book our hotel, and we have some special criteria. It was a bit pricey for the area, but not terrible. It was advertised as having four rooms, and it did, but they were each very small. It would work fine for long term stays, complete with refrigerator, oven, microwave and even a dishwasher. Tiny dishwasher pellets and dishwashing liquid were provided. We only wound up staying one night, and we arrived quite late, so we did not get to use these conveniences, unfortunately.

It was very clean, which is the most important thing for me. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was small and only OK. There were supposed to be hot foods, but they were empty when we arrived and still empty when we left. Not enough attention was paid to keeping these filled. We wound up eating oatmeal and cold cereal, which was a bit aggravating when we saw others eating eggs and sausages and kept hoping they would refill. The showers were a bit small with low-flow, but they were clean and adequate.

Did not interact with the staff, so I have nothing to say about them. I would stay again, but only if my favorite place was filled again.

Room Tip: We only stayed overnight. No tips this time; I'm sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Terrible experience in just about every aspect. They have handicapped rooms on the third floor, which makes no sense - thankfully they haven't had a fire or anything yet. One of the windows had a black out curtain, but didn't wrap all the way around and it was so positioned that the sun came beating in through the side directly onto the bed. This gave us a lovely 6AM wake-up call on our last night of vacation. When I advised the front desk clerk, she was completely unaffected, did not apologize nor offer any retribution. I would never stay there again, there are many other, much nicer places in Ames.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had never stayed at this chain previously and we were very pleasantly surprised! It was very clean and had a nice environment and they are pet friendly. We did not have any complaints, very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the GrandStay and loved my time there. The management is beyond terrific, and the staff is efficient and helpful. I felt very much at home there. And due to unfortunate circumstances, I didn't check in till a very late 3:00 a.m. Nonetheless, I was greeted by a kind and helpful front desk clerk. The bed was very comfortable, the facility was very clean and quiet and I would go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had reserved a two bedroom suite online, but when we arrived they had us in a one bedroom suite and didn't have any two bedroom ones left. So I asked for the one bedroom rate and the lady said "oh that is the one bedroom rate". I didn't buy that so I was prepared to talk to the manager at some point. Well I didn't get the chance. When I checked out the next morning the same lady said "my manager dropped your rate for the mixup". Soooo the bottom line is they did an excellent job of damage control and I would stay there again. Nice rooms, clean. On the downside, hard beds, and breakfast was so so. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, MN.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Got a good price on Orbitz. Suite was very nice, great value. Clean, comfortable and big, Would be great for a family. Drain in shower was sluggish. Only stayed one night so I don't know if they responded to my request to fix it.. Bed was hard, no pillow top here. .Pillows were poor. All in all, a good place to stay in Ames. Directly connected to Old Chicago. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about your stay at GrandStay Ames. We appreciate that you let us know about the slow drain -- you can be assured that this was fixed after you checked out. And remember . . . Old Chicago will deliver lunch or dinner directly to your room! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Ames, IA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames

Address: 1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay® Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Hwy 35E at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with Complimentary Gourmet Express Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation!With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is prefect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.