We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
291 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Grand Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice suites although a little on the smaller side. Felt a bit cramped, but the rooms were clean and was the halls and stairways. Daily breakfasts (waffles, cereals, limited fruit, and an egg burrito or omelettes) are good. There is an indoor pool, although, again, a little on the smaller side. All in all, if you are staying in Ames, have a grand stay at the GrandStay Residential Suites hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We enjoy hearing from our guests and knowing what we did to make your stay enjoyable, as well as what we can do to improve the stay of others in the future. We like hearing how guests enjoy our suites, our large continental breakfast, and the cleanliness of our guest rooms and public areas. We take pride in the cleanliness of our property as a TEAM.

We definitely want all of our guest to have a "Grand" stay at the GrandStay Residential Suites. We hope the next time you're in the Ames area, you'll stay with us again. We look forward to having people like you stay with us again and again.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales-GM
GrandStay Residential Suites-Ames, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    30
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
55
8
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We paid $200+ per night for a 2 room suite with full kitchen. The kitchen came with 2 forks, 3 spoons, 4 table knives, misc. plates/bowls/cups. No frying pan, just one medium sized stock pot. The one cup coffee maker leaked half the coffee through the bottom and all over the counter. We requested a frying pan and a couple forks (we had 4 in our family) and were told that the rooms varied in what is in the kitchen and that 'you get what you get'.

We also didn't realize that there is no daily housekeeping. We asked for clean towels the second day and were told the room came with towels and that is all you get for the stay. The bath room had one tissue in the holder. Again when we asked for a new box we were told that no restocking of paper products were included.

We liked the room overall, but just be aware that you can't count on what will be in your 'kitchen' and bring your own supplies as far as paper products (tissue, toilet paper, paper towels, etc.) And either bring towels or reuse the ones you get...we made the mistake of putting ours in the basket in the bathroom and got to use soggy towels the second day;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear R&M Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We find your reviews and comments very disturbing. You stayed this past weekend which was Iowa State University's Family Weekend, as well as a football game weekend. Rates do increase when we have large events in the Ames area, including events at the college.

Our property is an all suite property, catered to exteded stay guests. We have One and Two Bedroom Suites. The room that you stayed in was our One Bedroom Suite. We apologize your rooms wasn't fully supplied with the kitchen items you were needing. A simple call down to the Front Desk asking for these items and we would've been happy to bring them to your room.

We also noticed you had an issue with Housekeeping. We do have daily Housekeeping available for all our our guest rooms. We noticed the room (Room 218) you stayed in did have the "Do Not Disturb" sign posted on the door when Housekeeping came to your room on Saturday to clean. When this sign is posted, Housekeeping is not to bother you. Housekeeping finished their day at 2:30 p.m on Saturday. Again, a simple call down to the Front Desk and we would've been happy to bring you fresh towels, linens, extra toilet paper/kleenex, etc. We have someone available at the Front Desk 24 hours a day. Our number one goal/mission is our guests and our Customer Service. We find it very hard to believe our Front Desk employee responded back to you with those comments. The employees on staff that day are long-term employees that have been here for quite some time and know our goal and mission as a hotel.

We hope you reconsider your feelings regarding the GrandStay Residential Suites and give us another opportunity to show you what our hotel has to offer you and your family.

Thank you!

Sincerely,
Michele Morales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Grandstay Hotel is the place to stay if your visiting Ames or for long term stay. Hotel is VERY CLEAN and spacious. Hot breakfast severed daily. Hotel is in walking distance of several stores and restaurants. Everyone that works here are Friendly and welcoming. My husband and I travel alot and this hotel is by far the best we have stayed in. Hotel is pet friendly with fencned back yard so your dogs can get some exercise. The hotel is kept up well, they even had carpet cleaned during our stay. The manger Michelle is the best. Thanks Grandstay for the hospitality and a GRANDSTAY!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Joanna,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback. We enjoy hearing from our guests and their experience with our staff and property. It's great know you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed our amenities, especially our breakfast and our fenced in area out back for your puppies.

It was sad to see you and your family leave. We hope you stop in and visit to say "hello" when you're in the area. It's a pleasure having people like you stay with us. It makes us smile and appreciate what we do everyday.

Thank you again,

Michele and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by our stay at the GrandStay this past weekend. The room fit our family of four (two adults, two children under 5) just perfectly. We had a separate bedroom with the children sleeping in the living area (including a pack-n-play.) We were close to our tailgating lot and to the ISU football game, so we were able to run back and forth between the hotel/tailgate/game easily. The location of the hotel: right off the interstate, attached to Old Chicago and close to the university. They do have a pool (it's definitely on the smaller side, but if your children are like mine, they love water no matter what.) The breakfast in the morning was a nice amenity as well. The service was friendly, the room was mostly clean and I'm thankful that we were able to get a room that fit our family so well the week of a home football game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor.

We enjoy hearing from our guests and their experience at our hotel. Customer Service, cleanliness and our amenities we offer our guest is our main focus.

I'm happy to hear your experience was a good one. We are definitely in a prime location (less than 1 mile) for easy access to Iowa State University, especially Cyclone football games and tailgating. Our spacious room types gives individuals and families a comfortable experience during their stay whether staying one night or numerous nights. We have a great variety of breakfast items, as well as a swimming pool/whirlpool and sport court area in the back yard for young children.

We hope you stay with us again the next time you're in Ames for a football game and tailgating.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Used an "Ames Cool Deal" so we got the room half-price which was awesome! Great breakfast, and love the separation of bedrooms. The breakfast was yummy. It was very clean and was nice to have a full kitchen for long stays. My only complain was that the walls are pretty thin. I was woken up at 1am by a drunk wedding party locked out of their room and again at 6am by the people above me, but I'm also a light sleeper. The pool was great, and Old Chicago (right next to it) was delicious! Will definitely stay there again!

Btw, the service is AWESOME! They will definitely bend over backwards for anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your response on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate hearing from our guests and their experience at our hotel. We take pride in our hotel, the cleanliness and the amenities we offer. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and you took advantage of the "cool" deals" promotion we had going on at the time.

We apologize for the noise issues during your stay due to the wedding party staying that weekend. We would've been happy to take care of this issue right away. Kindly bring this issue to our attention and we would be happy to take care of it for you or anyone.

We look forward to your stay with us again in the future. We will definitely be doing a "cool deals" promotion next year again.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Location was perfect for our visit to the university. Check-in was fast and friendly. Breakfast was great. Room was very clean, nice layout with the seperate bedrooms and livingroom. There was an "Old Chicago" which came in very handy. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us at the GrandStay Residential Suites in Ames, Iowa. We greatly appreciate your feedback/comments and we're happy to know we exceeded your expectations. We take pride in what we offer our guests each and everyday.
Our location is definitely a plus when visiting Iowa State University and/or any other great locations in Ames. We are within walking distance to many great restaurants and shopping.
We look forward to your stay with us again in the future. Please spread the word about GrandStay Residential Suites and all our great amenities.

Thank you so much!

Sincerely,
Michele Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The rooms a large. A separate bedroom, living area with fold out couch and a nice kitchenette. They have a nice self serve breakfast and there is an indoor swimming pool. Restaurants are across the parking lot. Easy access to the University and the downtown area.


We compared prices and the GrandStay gave us the most for our money.

Room Tip: Get a room above and away from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear our hotel exceeded your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and the ammenities we offer to our guests. Our hotel is in a great location to many restaurants and one of the closest hotels to Iowa State University. We look forward to your stay with us again in the near futue.
Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Michele Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#6 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames

Address: 1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ames
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay(R) Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Interstate 35 at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with complimentary Grand Start Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation! With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is perfect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.