We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames

Save Saved
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Ames
Iowa
1 review
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

I was very unhappy with my stay at the Grandstay! I was part of a wedding block and found that the staff was not very happy with wedding block visitors. The night service and management was the worst!! The night manager took it upon himself to threaten all the young late comers as they entered the hotel, focusing mostly on the wedding party. He was arrogant and very rude, assuming that just because people were coming from a wedding meant they were going to be loud and obnoxious which was not the case! I have never felt unwanted at a hotel until that night, I would highly reccommend not staying there anytime, especially for weddings.

  • Disliked — hotel staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
5
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, IA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

We had many of our wedding guests stay at this hotel and strongly regret it!

When we told the hotel that we needed to reserve a block of rooms for a wedding, they directed us to their event coordinator. The room price that the coordinator gave as was $30/night more than what I was originally told by the front desk. We decided to call back another time and reserve the rooms at the front desk so that we could get the lower price (not telling them it was for a wedding).

Three weeks before our wedding the hotel found that we had bypassed their event coordinator and ironically lost our reservations. After several phone calls with the manager and digging up my confirmation numbers, I was finally able to get the original rooms reserved again but couldn't add anymore rooms (they claimed they were full).

To ensure that I reserved enough rooms, I asked my family to call the hotel and make their own reservations. I had found that the hotel was telling family members with the same last name as mine that there were no more rooms available. Other family had no problems getting rooms booked. We had been black listed for not booking the rooms with the event coordinator at a more expensive price.

Several calls were made to the front desk and the manager's office and I concluded that the whole staff was in on this little scheme! Everyone had a room the night of the wedding, but it was extra stress that was not needed! I will not be staying there again.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

This hotel was visually a very nice looking hotel. We were impressed with the exterior, lobby, and the way our room looked. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be built on the cheap. Absolutely no soundproofing between rooms or between the bedroom and the living room. Everything seemed not quiet as nice as it should have. It wasn’t a bad stay, but the quality of the hotel did not match what it looked like. It is a very nice location.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big12fan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed for two nights at Grandstay during a cyclone football game. Great price for great hotel rooms. Staff was overly accomodating and friendly. THe breakfast was fresh and had a variety of choices far beyond the usual. The rooms were neat clean and stylish with ample room for a extended or short stay. Nice pool and hottub as well. I have stayed in a number of places in Ames and would say this was the best experience.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Stayed only one night at this hotel and found the hotel to be very nice. This is more of a long term stay hotel but for just one nice it fit the bill very nicely. I stayed in the featured 'loft' room on the 3rd floor which was directly over the main lobby entrance. This room featured a higher ceiling which gave the room a nice spacious feel, even though the room was very spacious already.

The bed was very nice to sleep in - the pillows were ok - I've had better pillows, but there weren't terrible. The room was clean and had a dvd player with the tv. Two windows which opened . The kitchen area had a full size refrigerator, microwave and two-burner stove and a dishwasher which was full of clean glasses and dinnerware.

The lobby area was very nice with a grand staircase going ot the 2nd floor. The dining area on the lobby had a nice selection of breakfast items with some awesome mini-glazed cinnamin rolls !! Only change I would suggest for the dining area was to put a larger flat panel tv in the dining room instead of hte regular sized tv.

The hotel is right next door to an Old Chicago restaurant - but if you don't like this there is a good selectoin of mainstream restaurants within blocks - Applebees, etc. The hotel was quiet at night and there is also a small pool and hot tub on the 1st floor.

  • Liked — The size of the room - very spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing -
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

This hotel was very very nice. There was plenty of room for my family of four, with a separate bedroom, sitting room, kitchen, and bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and I was surprised to see Bath and Body Works toileteries. We stayed here during the week of the Iowa Games, so it was rather crowded with shirtless boys running around at all hours of the night. My only complaint was the lack of selection at their breakfast. There was basically waffles, yogurt, cereal, and bagels. There was little fruit and little kids drinks. However, the place was rather crowded, so I understand.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames

Address: 1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay® Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Hwy 35E at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with Complimentary Gourmet Express Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation!With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is prefect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.