We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Kitchen
2410 Chamberlain St, Ste 1, Ames, IA 50014
515-292-4788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 149 Restaurants in Ames
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Seriously no-frills but tasty food. Chicken Panang Curry is just that... Chicken in Panang curry, side of rice, no vegetables, no garnishes, no frills. Interior is old and worn hard, bathroom door didn't lock. In short, no frills. Remember to bring cash, as it's all they accept here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great place for authentic Thai food. I shared the appetizer sampler and the salmon paanag. The appetizer sampler was mostly fried food but a good variety of their appetizers. The main dish was fantastic, the curry sauce was delicious and the salmon well cooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very, very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Oh my, we all loved our meals at Thai Kitchen! It's a tiny spot, filled with locals and foreign students. The prices are great and the range of dishes is amazing. My husband and my son raved about their Thai fried rice and my red curry was delicious!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The flavor of Thailand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I had the Green curry dish that made me feel like I was back I Thailand. The flavor was just perfect and the price was extremely reasonable. It was the décor the kept me from a top score...I understand it is for the college crowd, but don't want to mislead anyone reading this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
“Best Curry Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having tried Thai food even back home in Illinois, Thai Kitchen still has the best curry by far. I have yet to find a place that serve better curry. I go there all of the time and just love the atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and polite, the food is worth the money, only $8 for dinner, less for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.