We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food, clearly disorganized restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe
631 Lincoln Way, Ames, IA 50010-6910
515-232-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Manila
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awful food, clearly disorganized restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I ate there yesterday and the food was terrible. I ordered an enchilada plate and my wife had fajitas. Although the restaurant was nearly empty, our food took about 30 minutes to get to the table. When it did arrive, it was obvious that mine had sat under a heat lamp for a long time. The tortilla was crispy and burnt and the guacamole was brown! I sent it back and ordered a different taco/enchilada combo and it was horrible. I couldn't eat 1/4 of what was on the plate. It was really a bad experience. I'll never go back there and I'd urge anyone who does go to avoid entrees and stick to beer and chips.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant that gets it right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My spouse and I visit Carlos O'Kelly's fairly often. We always receive quick and attentive service, the menu often has new dishes or specials to try and the food is always good. The prices are fair, the staff are great at getting you "in and out" without making you feel rushed and the decor and lighting are fine. We enjoy grabbing a quick lunch or dinner here about once a month. This restaurant really seems to care about the customers experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxley, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a mexican-irish cafe, what a combo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This isn't a bad restaurant to go to. Average price, average food, kind of awkward place to get into, probably why I don't go more often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service, Excellent Food...Yum I'll Be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Was seated immediately, got my chips & salsa (which is excellent) my order came and it was very good (just got the tacos beans & rice). Very quick, great atmosphere, everything was great! Will go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
“Good chips and salsa isn't worth the time or money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Officially had the worst lunch experience ever at the Ames location. Over 90 minutes for a table of 6 to have lunch. But worst is I specifically ordered off of the lunch menu but was brought a full order without my knowledge. When I complained about the bill my server refused to adjust it. If anyone gets Lindsay (#533), just walk away or better yet pick a different lunch spot.
Your time and money can be spent anywhere else.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.