We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dublin Bay
320 S 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-8102
515-956-3580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 161 restaurants in Ames
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After two times of attempting to eat at Dublin Bay, only to be met by an exceedingly long wait, we finally were given a short wait of 30-40 minutes and waited. The area we got seated in was fairly quiet, which was nice considering how busy the were. The service was okay, the waitress was not very friendly or interested in our table, but provided decent service. I ate a Hot Pesto Ham sandwich that was out of this world, it had capicola, walnut pesto, and hot pepper jack cheese on sourdough. And their garlic parmesan dressing is great. My boyfriend had a steak sandwich which was okay, kinda tough and it was on a hoagie, which got kinda soggy. And great fried cheese balls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    25
    32
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Not Quite like Pubfood in Ireland, But Pretty Close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The decor definitely tells you your in an Irish pub/restaurant the minute you walk in the door. There's about 20 beers on tap, including a good variety of Irish brews. Also a large selection of bottled beers, Irish whiskeys and wine. Cocktail hour is from 3 til 6 Mon thru Thurs, $1 off all pints and half price appetizers. My usual is a pint of Guiness & lamb stew. Chunks of tender lamb, carrots, potatoes in a delicious, thick thyme gravy. Other Irish meals include bangers & mash, corned beef & cabbage, shepards pie, etc. Most come with a slice of toasted Irish soda bread, very heavy and filling. Besides a good variety of Irish dishes, DB has non-Irish appetizers, sandwiches, soups, salads and dinner entrees. There's also an outdoor patio.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goddard, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Irish Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We drove up from Des Moines on a recent trip to Chicago just to eat here. It was very good, not fabulous but very good. The staff were all very friendly and the place was packed on a Saturday night. It is worth stopping in if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dublin Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Visited on a Saturday night about 7:00 PM - place was packed including the bar area - had group 6 so we hung around for 30-40 minutes before being seated in the bar area - service was good and food was excellent - we stayed for a few rounds and watched college football - my only suggestion is that Dublin Bay may want to try tables for two as there seemed to be a lot of wasted dining space with couples monopolizing larger tables while just drinking suds and watching TV - We have eaten here a few times and food and service has always been good

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of my favorite places.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The food has always been great, plus the staff are very pleasant. It is one of my family's favorite places to eat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Bay also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.