We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food were wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory Park Restaurant

Hickory Park Restaurant
1404 S Duff Ave, Ames, IA 50010-8022
515-232-8940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 164 Restaurants in Ames
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Service and food were wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went here on a Saturday and figured we'd have a huge wait. Not so! Even though there were several large groups here, we only had about a 10 minute wait. We were seated by a very friendly hostess and our server appeared quickly to take our drink order and answer questions about the menu. There are numerous menu items and they all sounded wonderful. The thing I thought was really smart were the placemats had the extensive dessert menu printed right there. Clever thinking! Even though it was very crowded, once we placed our order, it took only a short time to get our food.... piping hot and delicious. I did have to ask several servers for some butter, but that was pretty minor. Value was excellent... for 3 of us it was under $25!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    110
    33
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful food, great birthday spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I love the saucy southerner sandwich with a sandwich side of slaw and a cherry diet coke. My husband always gets chicken. The birthday song is an Ames legend. They won't seat you until your whole party has arrived, but then service is quick, professional, and accurate. This is the "we're going to Ames, so we have to go to Hickory Park" restaurant, so they are often quite busy. It can be loud, but it's worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Every Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

You can't go wrong with ANYTHING you order off their menu! Time and time again the food is consistently great and the portion sizes are huge. While there can be wait times during Iowa State University home events, they have a democratic waiting system in place that really works... and they give you an accurate time-to-wait when you walk in, if necessary. The Saucy Southerner is my personal favorite with tender shredded meat and a BBQ sauce that is hands down delicious. Last but not least, they have an extensive GLUTEN-FREE menu and they take it seriously! When you order item(s) off the GF menu, a manager comes to your table to inquire who has the allergy, and is able to answer any questions you have re: the GF menu and how the item is prepared/handled. For example, they have a separate dedicated fryer for the french fries that are ordered GF. And they tell you which sauces available on the table contain gluten... NO OTHER restaurant I've been to takes the GLUTEN-FREE diet as seriously as Hickory Park does. Free refills on pop, tea, etc., means you will never be thirsty. The wait staff are quick to spy an empty or nearly empty glass. My husband and I eat here with friends and/or family at least twice a month.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The food was fantastic. Great selection and very tasty and surprisingly inexpensive.

The place is huge but be prepared to wait. We were there on a Saturday night when Iowa State had a home game and the place was slammed. They do not take reservations, or at least not for large parties, so they recommended we have one of our party go and sit and essentially place hold.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It was very crowded, but they know how to move people. The food was good, & we liked the fact that our place mat was the ice cream menu.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Park Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory Park Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.