We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Old Town Ames” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Stam

Chocolaterie Stam
230 Main Street, Ames, IA 50010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Ames
Restaurant details
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Find in Old Town Ames”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stumbled upon this while checking out old town Ames before having dinner. The staff were very gracious and friendly. We decided to have dessert here after Dinner at the olde main brewery. The gelato is excellent. The fine chocolate choices were outstanding....chocolate bars with 70% cacao. Great ambiance too!!! piano playing while you peruse the establishment.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Was in Ames for the day and thought I'd stop by for some hot chocolate (it was particularly cold). What a treat! The drinking chocolate was rich and delicious and the staff was lovely. The owner popped in for a visit and was incredibly friendly and kind. A fun, cozy, and delicious afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious chocolate and gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The chocolates are beautiful to look at and even better to taste. There are many unique flavors and shapes of chocolate. Great place to buy a unique gift for someone. The gelato was good as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything here is absolutely delicious AND the staff are quite friendly...always a great experience here! My favorite are the dark chocolate coconut bonbons : )

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Incredible chocolates..especially the bonbons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been here only twice but it is my favorite chocolate shop. Yes, it is expensive, but where else can you find actual whipped cream centers? The bonbons are molded chocolates, filled with fresh cream and other flavors, like berries or caramel. Divine! The chocolate itself is excellent.

On this visit we also had large coffees...as in 20 ounce large! We enjoyed our coffee and chocolates while listening to two excellent pianists.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Stam also viewed

 

Been to Chocolaterie Stam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolaterie Stam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.