We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience at this hotel was most unpleasant & I will...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ames to your Saves list
Super 8 Ames
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Ames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My experience at this hotel was most unpleasant & I will...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My experience at this hotel was most unpleasant & I will never stay here again, even though I go to Ames, IA frequently. The smell of smoke was most offensive, & I couldn't leave my room. The carpet in my room was very dirty. It was so sticky that I stuck to the carpet. I did report that to the manager. Was not a good handicap accessible facility. The complimentary breakfast did not have any options for gluten intolerant guests. The manager (or owner) was very pleasant & tried to be accomodating as best he could with such an outdated facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed here many times but this time will be the last. Refrigerators/microwaves available only on the 2nd floor (my husband's heart precludes the stairs). After 2 minutes, my bare feet were so black and greasy... Serves me right for not keeping my shoes on. However, we still like the food at Azteca right next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shesam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ames hotels

Ames
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

There was a terrible toxic oder in our room and when reported they gave me a bottle of air freshener. The carpet was tacky and mold was growing above the shower. No discount or refund of money. Only 20% off of our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Lona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Motel is easy to get too and close to ISU where I was attending the Iowa Special Olympics. It was a comfortable place to stay while in Ames for 2 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#15 of 19 in Ames
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#6 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ames

Address: 1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ames
Ames Super Eight
Ames Super 8
Super 8 Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing