We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ames

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Ames to your Saves list
Super 8 Ames
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ames
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Ames
Marion
1 review
“What an experience :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The ceiling was brownish in color, most likely due to the residue of cigarette smoke from previous guests, there was a bloodspot in the bathtub and the mattress was stained, completely unacceptable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    35
    29
    31
See reviews for
49
18
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was in town for business at the university and stayed at the Super 8 on a special AARP discount. Room was very clean and comfortable. Nice television with good variety of channels. Newer air conditioning, worked excellent. I used the free wifi during my stay and had no issues. Front desk was very friendly and helpful, though if you get an Indian person they are a little hard to understand. Location was very easy to find off of I-35 and not far from the middle of Ames and the university. There was a bit of smoke smell in the hallway, but my room had no smoke smell in it.

Room Tip: There is a nice little Mexican restaurant next store "El Azteca".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vista
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The room appeared clean but had a smell for a non-smoking room. The rest of my review is the truth..........I was in town for my sons AAU basketball. I booked late so I was happy to even get a room. The rest of the team was staying at Comfort INN. Arrived back to the hotel around 11PM. Went to sleep around midnight. At 3am I was awoking to someone pounding on my door. At 4:15 AM outside my window approximately 20 adult male and females we screaming profanities back and forth. This went on for about 15 minutes. The hallway then became loud. I have stayed at many Super 8. Ames was the worst by far. A free stay would change my opinion. This hasn't happened before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Enitre building is really smoky so non-smokers beware. No cleaning service during 2 nights stay. No mattress pad on the rollaway. No repairs of reported broken A/C cover. We didn't use the free breakfast service due to lobby filled with smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ames

Address: 1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ames 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ames
Ames Super 8
Ames Super Eight
Super 8 Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.