We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not satisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Ames to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Ames
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Vincent,Ia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not satisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room was small with bed almost up against the wall on one side. Air conditioner/heating unit was extremely noisy. Traffic noise was very loud. The room we got was not what we were promised on our confirmation. We got a full size bed instead of a king size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansri A, Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest- I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us. We definitely want to make this right with you please feel free to contact me at the hotel # 515-233-6060.I would be more than glad to resolve this issue and see if there was any misunderstanding as all we have for room types is either Queen or Kings.It would be our pleasure to have to you stay with us again when you are around, for a much better experience. Thank you for providing us your feedback, as it helps us immensely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
16
4
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel in the Ames area, look no more. The Econo Lodge Hotel has definitely won me over. I work construction for a living, staying sometimes up to a year at a time at different locations in Iowa. I have stayed at the Econo Lodge four nights a week for the last 3 1/2 months, and will continue for the next 4 or 5 months. The rates are very reasonable, the rooms are always clean, the staff is always more than friendly, and I have no reason to even look elsewhere. There are 4 access points into the building, so you never have to far to walk to get to your room or vehicle. There is a large swimming pool, vending, beverages, laundry, free wireless internet, free cable, and a decent continental breakfast each morning from 6am to 9am. Did I mention that some of the rooms have a small refrigerators and microwaves, and the water pressure is great, and there is always hot water? How about the fact that the coffee is always on? Here's another benefit that most people don't consider: there is very little noise or sound transmission through the walls or ceilings. This hotel was built the right way 25 years ago, and it is in better shape than some 5 year old hotels that I have stayed in. The solid brick walls were very impressive last summer when I rode out a late day thunderstorm with 60+ mph winds. The last thing I would like to say is that I wouldn't waste my time writing a review for anything if I didn't honestly and sincerely believe in what I am saying. Some people have agendas that include writing bad reviews and trying to get refunds anyway they can. That ends up hurting good people, and often misrepresents the truth. Trust me folks, Look No Farther than the Ames Econo Lodge!!!
Mike S.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Mike, Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule and providing us with the feedback. It always feels good to know that we are providing satisfactory service to our loyal guests. we will try whatever it is needed to keep your faith in us and having you stay with us.Thanks a Billion!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The entire hallway smelled like smoke. Upon entering the room we saw dirty carpet. The bed had a live spider in it and crumbs. The bathroom had two bugs in it, one which looked like a cockroach. Left after ten minutes in the room. Did not receive a refund.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for something low cost, no frills expected, so we did a search for the area, low to high. There was one place with lower cost (not much lower) but horrible reviews so we took a chance on the Econo Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised. The facility was relatively new, very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly, the free breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to provide you with the best service each and every time we have you as our guest. you are the reason we are here and hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our one night here was quite nice. The room was small but very clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a fridge and microwave. The person at the desk was very competent and committed to great service. We had one small issue that she resolved immediately and graciously. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your last stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and good service at a time when they were very busy. Clean rooms, clean lobby and kitchen area. Convenient location for anything in Ames. A good value. I would stay there again. The rice krispies treats when you checked out were a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge Ames, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Ames

Address: 2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Ames
Econo Lodge Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.