We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Ames to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Ames
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Rochester, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good value, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This stay was good. We came on a busy weekend when lots of hotels were booked. We usually stay at another hotel, which we really like. The breakfast choices were very good, but they weren't able to restock quickly. Our room had a fridge and microwave (ask for one), had comfortable beds, and was clean.

Room Tip: Request a room with a fridge/microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
16
4
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troutdale
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very nice motel and room. Were able to have ground level room as requested. Staff was very nice. Great service! Room was clean. Breakfast was very good and fresh. We had a lot to choose from. I would gladly recommend them. Motel was right off the freeway so it is easy to find. An excellent value for the money! Lots of restaurants within 1.7 miles. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The people are very friendly and care about their customers it is very clean and if you need something they get it for you right away we stay here by the week we go home on Fridays and return on Sunday

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean and the employees are very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was in town alone on business, and booked a room here because it seemed to be one of the last available ahead of an approaching snowstorm. Although I was somewhat leery of what I might find coming in, I must admit I was very satisfied. While I sometimes find that when the management is from a different culture than mine, they may not grasp what it takes to give me a satisfying experience, that was not the case here. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was exceptional, and my room was clean and reasonably comfortable. The pool room was simple and lacked a hot tub, but the pool was larger than expected and at a comfortable temperature. I swam for about a half hour (around 9 PM) and had the pool all to myself the entire time. The pool was somewhat isolated at the end of the building, so security is a potential issue --- I felt a bit of a need to stay alert myself, so I would be reluctant to send my daughter to the pool without supervision. They do not have a fitness room, but the breakfast options were relatively expansive for a budget motel. They offered waffles and biscuits & gravy in addition to the normal toasts and cereals. One small downside was that the juice machine was out of orange juice, so I had to settle for a "HI-C" type of drink instead. Overall, though, I was very satisfied, especially for the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Never stay here. Went in to find out we were assigned last room available and was smoking, we first couldnt find our foom and never were told we were in a seperate building that did not attatch to second floor hauling our luggage back and forth looking for room, the smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling on a wire and we called to change rooms- there were no others, we were offered a refund if we chose to stay at another hotel and went back downstairs front desk to receive our refund. Couple days later the manager slapped the charge back on our credit card saying there will be no refund, we are still in dispute with credit card company, Manager is rude and not accomodating, says lots for the hotel now and how they care about ones well being, they only are out for money running a complete dump. I'ts outdated - smelly and worst in Ames area, avoid if all possible.

Room Tip: There are many others that are nice Country Inn and Suites, Quality Inn and Suites, Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel was very nice and the price was also great! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. It's also a quick ride to downtown Ames which is nice to go out to and have dinner and drinks. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoRico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is very clean, the room was spacious and beds super comfortable. For the price you pay it is a good deal. Breakfast, well, continental but my grandkids were thrilled for they made their own waffles. I think on weekends they should extend the breakfast time, sort of start and end a little bit later, like from 7 to 10 instead of 6-9 AM. On weekends people usually sleeps more. Ames is a small city so everything is close, restaurants, shops, etc. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Ames

Address: 2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Ames
Econo Lodge Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.