We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College drop off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“College drop off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night to see his son off to college. We had a king ADA room, just assigned randomly . It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was no sofa or pull out bed in this room. We were on 1st floor, which is good because I saw stairs but no elevator. Free coffee in lobby was nice. Lots of room in lobby to relax or use hotels' computers or fax. Cozy modern covered and furnished front porch for relaxing. There was an indoor pool and hot tub which we used. Pool was small and temperature perfect. Hot tub could have been a tad hotter but was really fine. From pool area you can sit at tables outside but it faces people pumping gas at a gas station do we passed on that experience. Fitness room was present and we didnt use it. Ice machine always had ice, which is good considering hotel was full. Free breakfast was clean, plentiful and good variety. I didnt like eggs at all, they tasted reconstituted. There was the usual, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, muffins and bagel, juice, eggs and two meats Hubby ate, I just had coffee. The hotel was booked solid the night of our stay, and the following night, yet they granted us a late 1pm check out, so kudos to the hotel!. Hair dryer was broken and staff replaced it faster than we could blink! All the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Even tho hotel was sold out, we had no issues w noise or crowds. Very nice budget place to stay. We will be back for next college event. Thanks, Best Western!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have an elevator, located across from our indoor pool and hot tub. Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay and please contact us again when you come to visit or pick up your son at college.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    47
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
13
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were in town for business, and had not made reservations in advance. Some our usual go to's were sold out. The desk clerk was very accommodating when I called for availability. We were very impressed when we arrived with the updated and upscale appearance of this property. This is not your OLD Best Western. Congratulations to Best Western on the design and appearance of this property. We had a great stay and I will be looking for more of these PLUS Best Western when we travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I was surprised at the hotel. From the outside I wasn't that impressed but when I went inside I was. To be a pet friendly hotel, it was very clean and I couldn't tell that pets were allowed in there. The only thing that I did not like was that there were no weights in the weight room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We have recently expanded and remodeled our fitness room. It now has an elliptical machine, an exercise bike, a treadmill, stretching cords, medicine balls, a weight machine, free weights, and yoga mats. Please come stay with us next time you are in Ames and check out our newly remodeled fitness room and lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of the nicest Beat Western properties I've stayed at. Last minute walk-in booking. Lovely room overlooking the little lawn on the 2nd floor. Double. Very clean. Extremely friendly staff. Great discounted AARP rate. Would recommend and stay there again if ever in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was at the Best Western Plus for a 2 day meeting and didn't have time to use the breakfast or internet amenities but the room was clean and everything worked fine. I liked the room bill left under the door in the morning so I didn't have to go to the front desk to check out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was pleased with my stay. The room was clean and very comfortable. The complementary breakfast was good. Had hot foods along with bagel and toast choices, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs with sausage and ham, ect. I was pleasantly surprised by the check out reciept slipped under my door the morning of departure so my check out was simple and easy. I will stay again the next time I have to travel to Ames for summer classes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This motel is located just a couple of miles from the Iowa State University campus. This was important to me because I was in Ames, Iowa, to attend a family reunion held at the Iowa State Alumni Center. I appreciated being assigned to a ground-level room. The motel itself is beautiful and has a convenient convenience store across the parking lot from it. I enjoyed using the treadmill in the fitness center in the mornings. Overall, it was a pleasant stay for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#1 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.