We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iowa State Interview” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Iowa State Interview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently travled to Ames, Iowa for a college tour with my daughter. I am a former Best Western Employee and I know what is expected of this hotel chain so I choose to stay at Best Western. The hotel was conveniently located off highway & near Iowa State University. Hotel had a very attractive lobby. Room was very clean and all we needed. Staff was friendly but the front desk staff needs a bit more education on what there is to do in area and how to get there. They were all friendly but had no idea how to answer questions as to what or where there was to do in the area. If my daughter is accepted at Iowa State - I will become a regular at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a review about your stay. We appreciate feedback from our guests and use it to make improvements to our property. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    75
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
102
20
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed here in the past so we knew this place was a great place to stay. From the moment you check in the staff is very friendly and very helpful. We had questions about some needs in the city, which they took care of. They have a comfortable lobby with a great breakfast to start the day. Our room was clean and quiet. We will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here two nights this week for work. Very convenient to Iowa State campus. Easy to get to. Good restaurants nearby. (Went to Hickory Park and Aunt Maude's - both good.) Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and I'm glad you had a comfortable stay. I'm glad you enjoyed some of the great local restaurants in Ames as well. Please contact us next time you need to come to Ames. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Husband and daughter stayed at the Best Western for a Cyclone football game. The hotel did meet our expectations except for the breakfast. The breakfast just seemed to have less food options than we have had at other Best Westerns. Otherwise the stay was nice, the hotel is within walking distance to the football stadium and a short drive to the campus. That and the comfy beds had to be the best part. We definately would stay here when return to Ames next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to an ISU Cyclone football game. We're glad you enjoyed your weekend and your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback; we are constantly making improvements based off of what our guests tell us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Ames!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. The room was very clean. Clean bathroom with plenty of towels. The only noise I heard was from the gas station outside our window. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. Congratulations to you and your husband on your anniversary! Please give us a call if you ever need another getaway and ask about our Romance Package that includes a night in a presidential suite, a bottle of wine, and chocolates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best Western Ames has a great full breakfast every morning. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. For a small town in low season I was surprised at their 150.00 a night charge for the room. That would be my only complaint!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our expanded complimentary hot breakfast and that you noticed how clean our hotel is. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again next time you are in Ames.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here while we were moving this year since August 1st was on a Wednesday and we didn't want to miss work to move. This place was excellent we had planned to check in on Sunday and check out on Wednesday but it rained Saturday and after a day of moving in the rain we decided that it would be nice to check in on Saturday instead so we could take advantage of the hot tub after a long wet day of moving. I called about an hour before check in on Saturday and they even had the room that I had reserved for Sunday available which was a plus. We were there for a few days but it was nice to be able to come back to the room after work and relax. Since, we are both smokers it was nice that they still offer smoking rooms as most hotels in Ames have gotten rid of their smoking rooms. We stayed in a simple King room which was very comfortable. The beds in this place are probably the best in Ames too.Another great thing about this place is that because I booked in advanced for a 3 day stay we got a discounted rate on our room. The only downside to our whole stay was the fact that my boyfriends truck was parked in the parking lot on the last night of our stay and it looked like one of the other guests who was parked next to him had backed out and there was a huge scratch down the back of his truck and with no cameras in the parking lot there was no way of telling who had done it. Because his truck was rather old we only had minimum insurance on it so we have still not been able to afford to have it fixed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay during your move and I hope that your comfortable stay helped ease your transition. Please give us a call if you ever have lodging needs in the future and I hope you are enjoying your new home. THANK YOU for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#7 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ames
Hampton Inn Ames
#10 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.