We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surpised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Ames to your Saves list
AmericInn Ames
2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
“Pleasantly surpised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nothing glamorous but clean, comfortable, quiet, fresh and reasonably priced. Wish it were closer to campus but it is convienient to downtown and i-35. Staff was very pleasant at check out,, efficient but not overly friendly at check-in


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Susan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor review to share with others the experience you had at our property here in Ames, IA. I firmly believe that having clean and comfortable rooms should be the number one priority in hotel service, and I am glad that you mentioned both of those things.

I do completely agree with you regarding the location of our property. Seeing as how a large majority of our frequent stays are here for obligations at the University, it would be nice to be a little closer.

I hope in the future you will choose to stay with us again during your travels.

Take care,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    30
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
76
14
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Ames AmericInn last weekend. The pool and hot tub were great- the pool wasn't too cold and the hot tub wasn't too hot! We also really enjoyed the hot breakfast items each day! The only recommendation I would make would be to re-locate the waffle maker to the end of one of the counters or to some other separate area to decrease the congestion as people wait in line to make their waffles. Otherwise, very good! And I appreciated that they also offered real butter for the waffles instead of only margarine- many hotels don't do this anymore. Thank you! : )

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor review regarding your stay with us in August. I am glad that you not only used but enjoyed the amenities we have to offer here at our property!

Thank you so much as well for providing input as to where we can improve. Our breakfast area is prone to congestion and perhaps changing the layout could help to minimize this problem. Your suggestion is appreciated and will be taken into serious consideration.

Take care,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Americinn many times in Ames. We arrived around midnight and the staff greeted us professionally. We enjoyed a spacious family suite. Breakfast in the morning was hot and delicious. In times past we have used the conference room when friends have also stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor review regarding your stay with us in August. I am very glad that the suite you stayed in and the breakfast were both great.

I see you mentioned that in the past you have used the conference room at our property, so I infer that you must have stayed with us on more than one occasion. I thank you for your continued business with us and we look forward to having you back to provide the same great service!

Have a great day,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Pool was very warm and wonderful ..hottub was awesome, powerful bubbles. Breakfast was amazing . Staff was very nice and very willing to help us. Even when we checked out they where so kind and outgoing.


4r

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Bess,

Here at the AmericInn Ames, we have the MOST powerful bubbles! In all seriousness, I am very happy to hear that everything you experienced was so great; especially the staff attitude.

Please stay with us again when you are in the area, we would love to have you back.

Take care,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a great place to stay! My family found this facility to be a perfect fit for our needs. There was nothing to complain about and we had only good things to say. We go to Ames every year for a family reunion and have tried many other hotels/motels in the area. We wish we had found AmericInn sooner but now that we have found them, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Richard,

I am so delighted that you only had positive things to share with others regarding your stay with us! We will be more than happy to have you, friends and family back whenever you are in the area.

Happy holidays,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Witt
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here in December with no problems and a good rate-Came back in August and paid a lot more, and when I checked in at 4:45 in the afternoon, the room was not ready; plus the drains in the tub and sink were not functioning properly and the toilet handle had to be held down to flush stool. When I came back to the room after dark, the light switch by the door didn't turn on one single light, so had to manually turn on some lights in the dark. They were out of milk at Sunday breakfast because they said it had spoiled. The staff is great at this hotel, however and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
Marykay,

I am so sorry to hear that your satisfaction with us seems to have been hit-and-miss between your stays. Consistency is key and something that we strive for here. Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff and cleanliness that you observed.

Maintenance issues and breakfast operations are two things that we have been constantly working to improve since your stay with us in August. I invite you to please come stay with us again to prove this.

Thanks and take care,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good place to stay in Ames. Clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful for us finding a restaurant. There was a big group there, with many kids. There was some noise in the hallways, but not extreme. Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Public Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, November 22, 2014
I am glad to hear that your stay with us in August was a good experience. Often times, especially during the Summer months, we do have exceptionally large groups and events at our property. I would like to let you know that we do try for both security and guest satisfaction purposes to monitor and walkthrough the halls frequently each day and night to keep noise level to a minimum. I am very sorry that this was a minor problem that you came across, but very pleased everything else was nice.

Have a great weekend,
Andrew
AmericInn Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Address: 2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.