We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Ames to your Saves list
AmericInn Ames
2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Muscatine, Iowa
1 review
“Great for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a very helpful desk clerk. I was upgraded to a suite free of charge for being a frequent visitor. Breakfast was hot early which was appreciated. The hotel had a good television channel selection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Tyler,

Thanks for the great review! We agree with you that we have an exceptionally friendly staff! We put a lot of effort into creating a hot and delicious breakfast each day, and we are happy that you found it satisfying!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
72
13
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this location once prior in July and had a very dissapointing stay. The manager called me with concerns I had and said she was taking care of them. I asked what she did to take care of the problem, she then asked me my name???? I told her and then spelled it out. Apperently she thought I was rude and gave me a "SHEEESH!" I waited a few months after that and stayed one week with a great room and great staff members I met there. So... I stayed a second week, I am 6'3" and can see above the shower surround. It appeared dirty/scummy/mildewy. There were finger nail clippings on the floor when I arrived. I took one of their washclothes to the top of surround and cleaned a section of approx 20" I waited the next day to see if they would rectify on it's own. The floor was not vacuumed and the shower had not been cleaned either. I called the front desk and talked to John (great with guests) and he transfered me to manager Sarah Litweller , to who I requested to come to the room to look at problems. She sent John who alledgedly gave her a report. I heard nothing back from her until after I sent corprate an email complaint. Jay from corprate called today and confered with me, I told him I would never stay there or my coworkers until Sarah is no longer at this facility. Americinns are usually great facilities with great management. Sorry AmericInn,, This location is a bust. Let the manager go her way and update the parking lot, Housekeeping apperently needs more time alloted per room to get the job done right or give each housekeeper a set of rooms for "pride of ownership". I will not do business at this location, however will continue to frequent other AmericInns without prejudice.

Room Tip: 218 was great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here 3 weeks for work. Taking in consideration all the points,hotel is ok for the price that they ask. Some bad points: staff is not so friendly, ther's an "old" smell in the room and two times my sheets was not so clean, internet connection doesn't work all the day and when work was too slow(I called reception a lot of time for that reason but they never fhe problem)ix t. Some good points: position is good, parking is big, there's a nice swimming pool with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Ramon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We want to let you know that this hotel has new management, and, along with that, we have been undergoing many changes and updates. We feel that our new staff is super friendly and helpful, and that we have many amenities that make our guests feel right at home!

Please consider giving us another try when you are next in Ames!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Heights
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in Room 132 and woke up the next morning to find bed bugs!! Took some in an envelope up to the front desk girl -- no manager was on site. But I guess she was made aware of the situation. I realize this can happen anywhere but don't want it happening to ME! Very very disgusting. We took precautions not to bring any home with us but if we discover that we did in fact bring some home with us, the Americinn in Ames WILL be hearing from us.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Laura,

Please accept our sincere apologizies for the situation that took place during your stay with us. It would be horrifying for anyone to encounter such an issue, and it is embarrassing for any hotel to have this happen.

While this can happen at any hotel, we have recently come under new management and we take great care to inspect our rooms daily to avoid a situation like this one. Our housekeeping staff is thoroughly trained and they do an excellent job of keeping our rooms spotless.

While we may not be able to get you to come back and give us another try, we would like to at least extend the invitation to come and see the updates and wonderful changes that we have made at this hotel.

Again, apologizies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved the great motel staff, young, bright, friendly, helpful.
Our room was a typical two queens. The mattresses seemed old and not very comfortable. While everything was clean, the fixtures, like faucets and such were worn and unsightly. The whole room looked like it had received no maintenance since it was built. The lobby was very nice.
Breakfast was mediocre, coffee not worth drinking. We used to enjoy Americinns but have been disappointed recently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the AmericInn in Ames. I want to let you know that this hotel has been undergoing many changes and updates, including new mattresses, new bathroom areas, and a new breakfast menu. The lobby is being redecorated as well.

I think that you would be very satisfied with the changes we are making, and I hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you visit Ames!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel staff was very friendly, everything was clean, lots of amenities were offered. Swimming pool and hot tub room was large and clean, and it even included a pool table. Easy access to Iowa State University, avoiding the traffic after football games. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful response to your stay with us! We are proud of our clean rooms, friendly staff and our convenient location. Please consider staying with us again when you are attending the next Iowa State football game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a recent stay....Sunday July 16th, Monday July 17th. Checked out Tuesday July 18th. rooms 121 and 201.

I cant believe anyone would try to run a comfortable lodging experience with the air conditioning capability (or lack thereof) in the lobby and upper level hallway outside of 2nd story rooms. The air temps were very uncomfortable....and impacted the ability to keep the suite comfortable....ie the sofa area room of Room 201. Could not have anyone sleep in that room..had to run the air on full blast in other room (and freeze in that room) to make the other room even close to tolerable.

Additionallly, we had to wait 15 minutes to check in sunday eve the 16th...the sink in room had to have a plunger replaced...we had to ask for towels Monday afternoon......car was pinned in by buses in the parking lot tuesday AM so had to track them down to move their damn buses.....due to the mycogen seed corn event.

overall, not impressed with the stay and for good reason. careful not to trip on the sidewalk that is heaving up with cracks and uneven surface.

Room Tip: dont stay on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Randy,

We are so sorry that you had many issues with your past stay. This hotel has undergone many changes since that time, including new management and many upgrades in the rooms. Your past issues have hopefully been resolved and we would love to have you give us another try the next time you are in Ames.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Address: 2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.