We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Ames

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Ames to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AmericInn Ames
2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Ames
Muscatine, Iowa
1 review
“Great for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a very helpful desk clerk. I was upgraded to a suite free of charge for being a frequent visitor. Breakfast was hot early which was appreciated. The hotel had a good television channel selection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
37
7
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this location once prior in July and had a very dissapointing stay. The manager called me with concerns I had and said she was taking care of them. I asked what she did to take care of the problem, she then asked me my name???? I told her and then spelled it out. Apperently she thought I was rude and gave me a "SHEEESH!" I waited a few months after that and stayed one week with a great room and great staff members I met there. So... I stayed a second week, I am 6'3" and can see above the shower surround. It appeared dirty/scummy/mildewy. There were finger nail clippings on the floor when I arrived. I took one of their washclothes to the top of surround and cleaned a section of approx 20" I waited the next day to see if they would rectify on it's own. The floor was not vacuumed and the shower had not been cleaned either. I called the front desk and talked to John (great with guests) and he transfered me to manager Sarah Litweller , to who I requested to come to the room to look at problems. She sent John who alledgedly gave her a report. I heard nothing back from her until after I sent corprate an email complaint. Jay from corprate called today and confered with me, I told him I would never stay there or my coworkers until Sarah is no longer at this facility. Americinns are usually great facilities with great management. Sorry AmericInn,, This location is a bust. Let the manager go her way and update the parking lot, Housekeeping apperently needs more time alloted per room to get the job done right or give each housekeeper a set of rooms for "pride of ownership". I will not do business at this location, however will continue to frequent other AmericInns without prejudice.

Room Tip: 218 was great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here 3 weeks for work. Taking in consideration all the points,hotel is ok for the price that they ask. Some bad points: staff is not so friendly, ther's an "old" smell in the room and two times my sheets was not so clean, internet connection doesn't work all the day and when work was too slow(I called reception a lot of time for that reason but they never fhe problem)ix t. Some good points: position is good, parking is big, there's a nice swimming pool with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Heights
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in Room 132 and woke up the next morning to find bed bugs!! Took some in an envelope up to the front desk girl -- no manager was on site. But I guess she was made aware of the situation. I realize this can happen anywhere but don't want it happening to ME! Very very disgusting. We took precautions not to bring any home with us but if we discover that we did in fact bring some home with us, the Americinn in Ames WILL be hearing from us.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved the great motel staff, young, bright, friendly, helpful.
Our room was a typical two queens. The mattresses seemed old and not very comfortable. While everything was clean, the fixtures, like faucets and such were worn and unsightly. The whole room looked like it had received no maintenance since it was built. The lobby was very nice.
Breakfast was mediocre, coffee not worth drinking. We used to enjoy Americinns but have been disappointed recently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel staff was very friendly, everything was clean, lots of amenities were offered. Swimming pool and hot tub room was large and clean, and it even included a pool table. Easy access to Iowa State University, avoiding the traffic after football games. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a recent stay....Sunday July 16th, Monday July 17th. Checked out Tuesday July 18th. rooms 121 and 201.

I cant believe anyone would try to run a comfortable lodging experience with the air conditioning capability (or lack thereof) in the lobby and upper level hallway outside of 2nd story rooms. The air temps were very uncomfortable....and impacted the ability to keep the suite comfortable....ie the sofa area room of Room 201. Could not have anyone sleep in that room..had to run the air on full blast in other room (and freeze in that room) to make the other room even close to tolerable.

Additionallly, we had to wait 15 minutes to check in sunday eve the 16th...the sink in room had to have a plunger replaced...we had to ask for towels Monday afternoon......car was pinned in by buses in the parking lot tuesday AM so had to track them down to move their damn buses.....due to the mycogen seed corn event.

overall, not impressed with the stay and for good reason. careful not to trip on the sidewalk that is heaving up with cracks and uneven surface.

Room Tip: dont stay on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa
Address: 2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.