We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but room needs upkeep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Ames to your Saves list
AmericInn Ames
2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great staff, but room needs upkeep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved the great motel staff, young, bright, friendly, helpful.
Our room was a typical two queens. The mattresses seemed old and not very comfortable. While everything was clean, the fixtures, like faucets and such were worn and unsightly. The whole room looked like it had received no maintenance since it was built. The lobby was very nice.
Breakfast was mediocre, coffee not worth drinking. We used to enjoy Americinns but have been disappointed recently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the AmericInn in Ames. I want to let you know that this hotel has been undergoing many changes and updates, including new mattresses, new bathroom areas, and a new breakfast menu. The lobby is being redecorated as well.

I think that you would be very satisfied with the changes we are making, and I hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you visit Ames!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
72
13
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel staff was very friendly, everything was clean, lots of amenities were offered. Swimming pool and hot tub room was large and clean, and it even included a pool table. Easy access to Iowa State University, avoiding the traffic after football games. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful response to your stay with us! We are proud of our clean rooms, friendly staff and our convenient location. Please consider staying with us again when you are attending the next Iowa State football game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a recent stay....Sunday July 16th, Monday July 17th. Checked out Tuesday July 18th. rooms 121 and 201.

I cant believe anyone would try to run a comfortable lodging experience with the air conditioning capability (or lack thereof) in the lobby and upper level hallway outside of 2nd story rooms. The air temps were very uncomfortable....and impacted the ability to keep the suite comfortable....ie the sofa area room of Room 201. Could not have anyone sleep in that room..had to run the air on full blast in other room (and freeze in that room) to make the other room even close to tolerable.

Additionallly, we had to wait 15 minutes to check in sunday eve the 16th...the sink in room had to have a plunger replaced...we had to ask for towels Monday afternoon......car was pinned in by buses in the parking lot tuesday AM so had to track them down to move their damn buses.....due to the mycogen seed corn event.

overall, not impressed with the stay and for good reason. careful not to trip on the sidewalk that is heaving up with cracks and uneven surface.

Room Tip: dont stay on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Randy,

We are so sorry that you had many issues with your past stay. This hotel has undergone many changes since that time, including new management and many upgrades in the rooms. Your past issues have hopefully been resolved and we would love to have you give us another try the next time you are in Ames.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Clean, comfortable, very nice. Clean, soft double sheets now take the place of those disgusting bedspreads. Very nice large pool and hot tub. Breakfast was fine. 8 minutes to ISU.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you made use of our wonderful pool and spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The king room was very nice and spacious. Double queens are typical. Breakfast is typical for this level of hotel. Maybe the Applebee's of hotels, right?

Room Tip: Away from parking lot is away from street but even on parking lot rooms were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Dana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We have made many upgrades in the hotel, including our breakfast menu.
We hope that you will stay with again when you are in the area, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

It was clean and a good value. There was a Mexican restaurant right across the parking lot that had a decent Margarita.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sharon,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! And the Mexican restaurant (El Azteca) is so wonderfully located, with great food, and margaritas!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Made reservation online for king n/s. 30 minutes before check-in I received email confirmation that they had upgraded to king jacuzzi suite - no charge. I was traveling alone and the room was on the ground floor. I asked if I could have another room on the 2nd floor & it didn't matter the style. Was moved without question to the same room on the 2nd floor. Very friendly front staff and easy to work with. Breakfast was sufficient; nothing fancy but certainly adequate & what I expected. The "business center" was an antiquated computer that never did connect to the internet. A nuisance, but not detrimental to my stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for single travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are happy to hear that our staff was able to work your room around to your satisfaction. We are proud of our friendly, accomodating staff! We are so sorry about the situation with the computer. We have made many upgrades in the hotel and would love to have you come back when you are in Ames!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Address: 2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.