We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On par with all Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ames to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 E. 13Th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“On par with all Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express in Ames is a very decent Holiday Inn Express which I believe is on par with other Holiday Inn Expresses. Like all other 2.5 star hotels, this hotel is great for short trips which you aren't spending a lot of time in the hotel. It was very comfortable and the staff was very welcoming. The room itself was clean, inviting, and comfortable. One issue I noticed with the rooms was a few lady bugs were wandering in the bathroom but it can be MUCH worse than that. We didn't use the pool but it looked like any other hotel pool. Clean and can be fun if you have kids. Note there is no hot tub at this hotel. One thing I love about stay at Holiday Inn Expresses is the free breakfast in the morning. The Ames location did not disappoint! Our morning they had pancakes made fresh by an automated machine, warm cinnamon rolls (so good!), biscuits and gravy, bacon, cheesy omelettes, cereal, oatmeal, etc. It was a very nice stay for another great weekend back in Ames and would return again to the Holiday Inn Express Ames!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
15
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I checked in for 1 night while in Iowa on a business trip. The hotel seems to be a little outdated and needs a little refreshing/remodeling. Room was ok...but not quite as nice as most Holiday Inn Express locations. Room was clean and comfortable. Desk chair needed to be replaced as it wobbled. Breakfast bar was good, as usual in any Holiday Inn Express. But the service was excellent. Was greeted as a hotel reward member and received a call shortly after check-in to make sure everything was ok with my room. They also asked if I needed dinner suggestions for the night. Service was the high point of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night.
We needed to book a suite because the hotel didn't have available any 2 QUEEN BEDS NONSMOKING. A little more pricey that we expected.
The room was nice, large and clean with a small kitchen, a pull out couch.
The bathroom was very clean.

Front desk staff was very courteous and helpful .
The help us to find a great place to have dinner and provided us a map.

The continental breakfast was just fine, with the usual offerings.
The coffee was not good, actually pretty bad.
The staff working in the dinning room were very helpful.

The hotel has great location, right off of I-35 in Ames and near Ames downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in here for 2 nights of rest and relaxation after some heavy on the road time. The hotel is pretty standard. Not great but not bad. I basically wanted to just chill out and watch tv before Getting back on the road. It says it has 80+ channels on the list but most of them came up as "channel unavailable" half the time and other times none of the channels would work unless you turned off the tv and then turned it back on again. I have had issues with a lot of hotel TVs in the last month, even at 4 and 5 star hotels. With all of the technology available now, why do hotels still used such shoddy and inconsistent cable delivery systems? It's pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Brian L,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our property, As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We would like to apologize for the problems that you had experienced regarding the television service during your stay with us. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate department where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you for taking your time to inform us with this information. We hope to have the chance to serve you better again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed on a reward night, so I cannot comment on "value" relative to cost.

The good/great:
There was a cheerful elephant made of towels on the bed and a note from management welcoming me to the room.
1. I was happy with the cleanliness and decor in the room (215), the indoor swimming pool, the elevator and the breakfast area. I think the bathroom was very clean and bright.
2. The breakfast had a good variety of choices, both hot and cold foods, and even a machine that deposits pancakes on your plate with minimal effort.
3. The location is good and there's an Arby's right next to the hotel.

The cons:
1. Mattresses were too soft. Yes I know that mattress firmness is a personal preference, but I could feel my mattress was "dipping" towards the center - and that doesn't make for a comfortable sleep.
2. Staff is generally courteous, but needs to improve communication within the employees. I telephoned my request for a crib over a day in advance, and asked for towels for 4 people about an hour before my arrival. Both requests "fell through the cracks".

Suggestions:
1. Make some microwave-safe cups and plates available to be borrowed by guests. I wanted to boil some water and the hot water dispenser (in the breakfast area) was empty. I would have gladly used the microwave in my room to boil some water, but the room or the front desk did not have any microwave-safe utensils.
2. Install some mattresses with quantifiable firmness (e.g. a Sleep Number) in a few rooms and let guests request firm mattresses during reservations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good location, right off of I-35 in Ames. Front desk staff was courteous, and the room was very clean. The continental breakfast was just fine. I only made a quick overnight stay here while driving through, so I can't say much about the other hotel amenities, but I would definitely stay here again. The only negative was that I could hear noise late at night and early in the morning (kids running in the hall, doors opening and closing...), but you'll find that at just about any hotel of this type.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a very clean and nice hotel to use. The breakfast is typical Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean and the checkin was OK as well. This is a typical Holiday Inn and was completely up to the standards of a Holiday Inn express. No Problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ames

Address: 2600 E. 13Th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Ames, Iowa. The hotel is conveniently located in Ames, off I-35 at exit 113 on 13th Street. We are minutes away from many local attractions, including Iowa State University, Jack Trice Stadium, Cy Stephens Auditorium, NorthGrand Mall and downtown Ames. Several corporate and government offices are also nearby, such as USDA, NVSL, Iowa Cattleman s Association, National Farmers Organization, Sauer-Danfoss, Hach Chemical, Barilla, Ball Co. and 3M. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel was designed with keeping comfort in mind by providing spacious guest rooms and amenities to make travel less stressful, including complimentary use of the on-site indoor heated pool and workout facilities. We also feature the complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet & refrigerator/microwave. The hotel features suites and whirlpool suites offering all the same amenities as our standard rooms plus a separate parlor area. Whether it's for business or pleasure, you can enjoy peace of mind at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ames.The Holiday Inn Express Ames is conveniently located within walking distance to Sauer DanFoss, 3M, and the USDA. There are also restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk! Comfort, convenience, and warm hospitality are all located in Ames - it happens at the Holiday Inn Express Ames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ames Hotel Ames
Holiday Inn Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.