We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Ames to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 E. 13Th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I would say this was an average HI Express. Easy to find location off I35, and only a few minutes from the ISU campus, Mary Greeley Hospital and downtown. The usual breakfast, watered down juice and coffee. Staff was helpful. It seemed a bit "worn" for what appeared to be relatively new on the outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear jnobz,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our facilities continually. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
12
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a king suite. The room was quite large with a small kitchenette, pull out couch, and sitting area. The bathroom was spacious as well. The bed was comfortable. The manager who checked me in was very pleasant and accommodating. There was a free breakfast with the usual offerings. Also, free wi-fi with a good signal.

I have two relatively minor complaints. 1) there was a cigarette smoke smell near the elevator and in the hallway outside of our room. I called the front desk and was told there were smoking rooms near ours. 2) the coffee was not good. I am mildly annoyed when after spending nearly $200 for a room, I have to get in the car and drive to a Starbucks to get a good cup of coffee.

For a hotel in this class , I thought the price was a little high. But overall this is a very nice hotel. I would stay here again. Next time I will ask to be far away from any smoking rooms and I will bring my own coffee.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask to be away from any smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Check in was easy and the desk attendant was very friendly and most helpful in identifying restaurants. The hotel has easy access to the interstate. We were upgraded to a suite and we appreciated the extra space, overall the room was clean and comfortable except the continuous fan did not work on hvac and road noise could be heard. However getting off the elevator or exiting the room the smell of cigarette smoke permiated the hallway even though the rooms were non smoking. The breakfast was just ok - the sausage gravy tasted like salty paste and looked like it had already had been eaten once - eggs were flavorless - coffee was great. Fortunately there was cereal, assorted pastries, breads, and A pancake machine. This was a reward night .. Not sure if I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Kmnb2012,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the cigarette smoke smell in the hallway and the air conditioning. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was in town for a family reunion and booked into this hotel This was a very clean and comfortable property, with easy access to interstate. They offered a good selection at breakfast, although I would skip the bacon if I were you, it was like paper. Go with the cinnamon rolls, they were actually delicious! The rooms were quite comfortable with a fridge and microwave (perfect for a midnight snack) and everyone was very friendly. The gym was small, but fine for a short workout. All was offered at a competitive rate which makes this a property worth visiting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was in town for business for just one night. I arrived pretty early (i.e., 11am) and they let me check in early and were very nice about it as well. The room was clean and pretty modern - no complaints!

Breakfast was nice with many options (i.e., eggs, sausage, biscuits, cereal, etc.) and the coffee was actually very good! I would stay again as I got a low rate on priceline and the hotel was clean and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were in Ames for new years and we stayed at this location. It was a great spot. The staff were very friendly and the accomodations were super. I loved the breakfast options and the microwave in the room was good for late night snack :)

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for you positive feedback. Please come back to stay with us again.

Holiday Inn Express Ames, Iowa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Due to a snowstorm in central Iowa, I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Ames, Iowa. Reception staff was very helpful. They even had people on hand to help "dig" our cars out the next morning after the storm! Rooms were clean and comfortable. The room heater/air conditioner rattled, which was a bit annoying in the middle of the night, but overall the room met my expectations.
Breakfast on site. Would suggest to breakfast personnel to check outdates as the yogurt I chose for breakfast had outdated 3 weeks prior!
Other than the "yogurt issue", no problems with my stay and I would recommend this hotel. I will definitely book again, should another snowstorm keep me from traveling home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ames

Address: 2600 E. 13Th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Ames, Iowa. The hotel is conveniently located in Ames, off I-35 at exit 113 on 13th Street. We are minutes away from many local attractions, including Iowa State University, Jack Trice Stadium, Cy Stephens Auditorium, NorthGrand Mall and downtown Ames. Several corporate and government offices are also nearby, such as USDA, NVSL, Iowa Cattleman s Association, National Farmers Organization, Sauer-Danfoss, Hach Chemical, Barilla, Ball Co. and 3M. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel was designed with keeping comfort in mind by providing spacious guest rooms and amenities to make travel less stressful, including complimentary use of the on-site indoor heated pool and workout facilities. We also feature the complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet & refrigerator/microwave. The hotel features suites and whirlpool suites offering all the same amenities as our standard rooms plus a separate parlor area. Whether it's for business or pleasure, you can enjoy peace of mind at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ames.The Holiday Inn Express Ames is conveniently located within walking distance to Sauer DanFoss, 3M, and the USDA. There are also restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk! Comfort, convenience, and warm hospitality are all located in Ames - it happens at the Holiday Inn Express Ames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ames Hotel Ames
Holiday Inn Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;