We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iowa House and the ACVP board exam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iowa House Hotel - Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iowa House Hotel - Ames to your Saves list
Iowa House Hotel - Ames
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   405 Hayward Avenue, Ames, IA 50014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Iowa House and the ACVP board exam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great place to stay for boards. Super close (walking distance; 15-20 min walk), quiet, right next to college-own restaurants and convenience stores. Nice, clean, rooms-- super comfy and warm bed and bedding, mini fridge, microwave, cable TV (of course) and JETTED TUB. Great complimentary breakfast spread (coffee/ tea, cereals, fruit, yogurt, with toast, eggs, bacon made to order by the kitchen), and an afternoon "snack" with chex-mix, fruit, and a baked treat (coffee cake, cake, cookies). Great for snacking while studying!!! Nice neighborhood area and adjacent park to go for a run outside to unwind. I'll be staying here again next year! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
30
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The welcoming was fantastic and I felt like being at home. The rooms are well decorated, large and luminous. There is always coffee, drinks and snacks avaiable all day long. Breakfast is also good and accompanied by a smile. I definetively would recommended this to everybody!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed on a football weekend. It was my first trip back to Ames since I graduated in '81, when the Iowa House was still in use as a fraternity. I was very impressed with the house, inside and out. I had concerns about staying in a "converted fraternity house". It was clean, well decorated and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a couple small special requests and they were very accommodating. The location is great. It is about a 4-block walk to campus and about a half mile to the stadium. We arrived about 10:00 on a Saturday morning. They let us check in to one our rooms that was unoccupied and we left the car there so we did not have to worry about parking at the stadium. The breakfast was excellent, Eggs Benedict as well as a number of continental choices. I plan on visiting ISU again in the future and will make it a point to stay at the Iowa House.

Room Tip: Look at the website and pick an interesting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were terrifically impressed with Iowa House from the moment we made our reservation. I needed to make a change which was done easily with a phone call. Our arrival was greeted warmly by our hosts who directed our daughter to warm cookies fresh from the oven. Our room, 301, was comfortable and easily accommodated the 3 of us. It was homey, comfortable and unobtrusive. Breakfast Sunday morning was terrific as well. We will definitely stay here very chance we can when we come to Ames.

Room Tip: the rooms on the main floor are right off the dining room and kitchen. While large that might cause...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After enjoying B&B's throughout the US, one comes to expect a certain style and type of service especially if it is highly rated on Tripadvisor.
Book our stay here in the 1st floor room. We were told that is has an outside patio on the first floor. Upon arrival, we were taken downstairs to the basement and entered our room. There was outside access. You open the door onto a small 4x6 patio that is at the bottom of a set of outside stairs. So instead of being on the first floor looking out you are at the bottom of a "cellar" stairs looking at a wall. This is not what we expected by any means. After some discussion, we were moved to a second floor room, and given our money back for the second night that we had planned to stay. We would have stayed but the B&B was full.
As for the place itself, it was mostly clean. felt more like a hotel. the outside of the house is unique and beautiful. The inside has been redone, but instead of keeping the historic theme of the house, it was redone to look like the pottery barn "mission style".
The people were friendly and breakfast was average.
On the good side, if you ever decide to stay go the the third floor. Had I been in this room, the review might have received one more star.

Room Tip: Third floor is the only thing that is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a great choice for visiting parents. It is well-located and an easy walk to campus and all the off-campus student lodging (fraternity/sorority). It is easy to find and very cosy. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, you should ask for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed at Iowa House multiple times and find it to be the best accommodations to be found in Ames. Comfortable, welcoming atmosphere, jacuzzi bathtubs in almost every room, free wi-fi Internet that works well, and the best breakfast in town. The place is set up in such a way that satisfies every kind of traveler, whether you are in town for business, visiting your child who attends the university, just exploring Ames, road-trip overnight stop, family reunion, or romantic getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms are welcoming and comfortable. If you like to sleep in, do not choose room 203 because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
1.3 mi away
Gateway Center Hotel
Gateway Center Hotel
#11 of 19 in Ames
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#6 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iowa House Hotel - Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iowa House Hotel - Ames

Address: 405 Hayward Avenue, Ames, IA 50014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iowa House Hotel - Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the "Campustown" area of Ames, the Iowa House is just three blocks south of the central campus of Iowa State University. Built in 1924 as the Delta Chi Fraternity House, it was transformed by a massive 2008 renovation into a 15-room hotel meeting current health/safety standards and providing state-of-the-art amenities, spacious private baths, whirlpool tub and shower combinations, flat-screen TVs and complimentary high-speed internet. Included Gourmet Country breakfast is served daily in the colorful dining room. Iowa House is popular for weekend getaways for couples and ISU Parent visits. We also host wedding groups, sorority, fraternity and family reunions, business meetings and small certification classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Iowa House Hotel - Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iowa House Hotel - Ames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iowa House Hotel - Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.