We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Ames to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here over Iowa State's graduation weekend, so the hotel was at capacity. Service was friendly and prompt. Breakfast was better than expected, offering eggs, sausage, and waffles, not just cold cereal and yogurt.

The room was good, except that we had a few problems regulating the temperature. Cleaning service was thorough but cups for hot beverages weren't replenished. It wasn't a big deal because we could pick up more cups in the lobby and breakfast room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Thank you,

Debra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    41
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
75
21
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful from the moment I walked in to the hotel. Especially liked the fact that they provided bags for your sweet treats. Also, they did something different that I have never seen at any other Country Inn. They had a happy hour in the eating area. I received my choice of either 2 beers or 2 glasses of wine. Nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Thank you for your kind comments,
Debra
Country Inn & Suites
Ames, IA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have stayed here five times in the past year as we have a student at Iowa State University and have never been disappointed. Every aspect of this hotel is excellent. The staff is eager to please, attentive to needs and always courteous. The rooms are quiet, clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable. We have never had issues with heating/cooling or water pressure. The breakfast included has a nice variety with the hot offerings changing a bit from day to day. They even have complimentary drinks week nights- nothing fancy but appreciated after a five hour drive! This is our "go to" hotel while visiting Ames and do not hesitate to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Malora,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Again thank you for your feedback!

Debra
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites, Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My mom and I were traveling to visit her sister outside of Ames. We had major flight delays coming from CA and arrived at 10:30 in the evening. The desk clerk was helpful and friendly at a time when we were exhausted. The rooms were comfortable and clean and very quiet. The comforters were extremely heavy but necessary as the weather was quite cold in late April. Pillows were nice and we were unable to test the breakfast buffet. The location was easy to find and my calls to indicate we would be a late arrival were met with friendly staff. We also met a morning clerk who had recently moved to Iowa from Ca so it was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a golf weekend trip. We stayed at this hotel saturday night between Sat & Sun golfing.

The hotel was as expected but the water pressure was very low and it never really heated up beyond luke warm. We were on the 3rd floor. I don't think I would stay here again because after a day of golfing I need a good hot shower with enough water pressure to wash off the soap.

The hot tub in the pool area was very hot but about 8 inches low on the water depth, the jets were not submerged nearly enough.

Room Tip: the rooms were quiet even though Interstate 35 is only 2-3 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We must have stayed here on an off night. The desk clerk when we arrived was not very friendly and it seemed painful for her to answer our questions so we quit asking. The room was average but the bed WAS comfortable. When I was taking the elevator up to the room after returning a cart, it started making a loud clanging sound and started to drop down about the 2nd floor, we were on the 3rd floor. It then caught on something and stopped. After a couple of minutes it continued the journey to the 3rd floor. When I called the front desk to report it, I was told, "there is nothing I can do about it right now and I wouldn't take that elevator". It appeared that something had been done as it was working fine the next morning. We went to the breakfast which was unappealing so we went out to eat. When it was time to check out, we spent about 10 minutes trying to find someone to check us out. This was my first stay at a Country Inn and I probably will never stay at another one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Debra General Manager
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Ames to Visit Iowa State and we found the hotel perfect. The beds were really comfortable..We found the hotel clean and the breakfast positive. The staff gave us maps of the city and we really needed them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Ames

Address: 2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.