We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Ames to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My mom and I were traveling to visit her sister outside of Ames. We had major flight delays coming from CA and arrived at 10:30 in the evening. The desk clerk was helpful and friendly at a time when we were exhausted. The rooms were comfortable and clean and very quiet. The comforters were extremely heavy but necessary as the weather was quite cold in late April. Pillows were nice and we were unable to test the breakfast buffet. The location was easy to find and my calls to indicate we would be a late arrival were met with friendly staff. We also met a morning clerk who had recently moved to Iowa from Ca so it was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    55
    26
    13
    3
See reviews for
109
27
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a golf weekend trip. We stayed at this hotel saturday night between Sat & Sun golfing.

The hotel was as expected but the water pressure was very low and it never really heated up beyond luke warm. We were on the 3rd floor. I don't think I would stay here again because after a day of golfing I need a good hot shower with enough water pressure to wash off the soap.

The hot tub in the pool area was very hot but about 8 inches low on the water depth, the jets were not submerged nearly enough.

Room Tip: the rooms were quiet even though Interstate 35 is only 2-3 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We must have stayed here on an off night. The desk clerk when we arrived was not very friendly and it seemed painful for her to answer our questions so we quit asking. The room was average but the bed WAS comfortable. When I was taking the elevator up to the room after returning a cart, it started making a loud clanging sound and started to drop down about the 2nd floor, we were on the 3rd floor. It then caught on something and stopped. After a couple of minutes it continued the journey to the 3rd floor. When I called the front desk to report it, I was told, "there is nothing I can do about it right now and I wouldn't take that elevator". It appeared that something had been done as it was working fine the next morning. We went to the breakfast which was unappealing so we went out to eat. When it was time to check out, we spent about 10 minutes trying to find someone to check us out. This was my first stay at a Country Inn and I probably will never stay at another one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Debra General Manager
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Ames to Visit Iowa State and we found the hotel perfect. The beds were really comfortable..We found the hotel clean and the breakfast positive. The staff gave us maps of the city and we really needed them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am a Club Carlson Member, so I stay in Country Inn and Suites often. I stay at this particular hotel several times throughout the year. This hotel in Ames is an excellent place to stay. They are always very friendly and accomodating. It is obvious that it is important to them to ensure a good experience while in their hotel!

Room Tip: Everyone room I have stayed in has met my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Cheryl
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with the personal attention we received during our stay. Our suite was very clean and all the hosts from front desk folk to the custodial staff did everything they could to make sure our stay was fantastic! An hour after we checked in and were in our suite, the front desk called to make sure we were totally satisfied with our room. She even volunteered to make a change if we were not satisfied. We have stayed in a lot of motels and have never had that happen before. We stayed two nights and told the custodial person that all we needed the second day was to have the waste baskets emptied and more towels. She saw that we had used one of the tea bags and asked if we wanted another one. Shortly after she left, the front desk person showed up at our door to make sure we had received everything we wanted from the maid. Again, we have never received such treatment in even much more expensive motels/hotels. The swimming pool was great and so was the hot breakfast.
We would not be afraid to recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be comfortable but the two room suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Country Inn. It was a very nice hotel. The rooms were nice. The breakfast had an awesome variety what ever you wanted for breakfast was there. The front desk staff is very helpful and very informative. We will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Hot tub room on 3rd floor is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyedyour stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#7 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ames
Hampton Inn Ames
#10 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Ames

Address: 2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.