We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Ames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Ames to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Ames
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean but the room was not quite. Walls must be thin as you could hear everything. The pool area was very nice as was the workout room as we used both. Breakfast was good and they had a good selection. For the price not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    41
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
75
21
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a one night stay at a quiet property a bit out of town. It was clean and more than adequate with spacious king bedded room.
Bottom sheet bedding was smaller than mattress and kept coming off the mattress, AC was quieter then many,a nice feature.A nice big desk and work chair for laptop.Pillows firm and soft.

Though more spacious than many more contemporary properties, the bathroom needs an up date. No hand rail in shower for us advancing middle agers. The toilet too low. The sink spigot was slow and the screen cap needed cleaning. The sink top could be raised. And the dreaded original Country Inn wall paper in bath should be replaced immediately.
Price with points was reasonable. Good,fresh check in cookies!!

Room Tip: the higher the better as building is 'stick built' and like all of those it can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Minnesota. Close to the Interstate. Great Breakfast. Nice big room. Great value for the money. We stayed in a king and got a roll-away for our daughter and there was plenty of room. We had cookies when we arrived and then swam in the pool (which was open until midnight). Nice pool and big hot tub (although I think it needed a little bit more water, as the jets were very powerful). In the morning,we had a great breakfast. There was something for everyone. The staff was so nice and helpful. Even helped me with a fax and mail I needed to get out.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor - close to the breakfast and swimming pool. We liked that as we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a nice hotel close to the interstate, but a little drive to ISU. Nothing bad and nothing outstanding about this hotel. It's clean. Good place to stay. Reasonable room rate. Friendly staff. The breakfast was pretty basic, but fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites, Ames IA
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Upon arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the staff @ the front desk with smiles they seemed to enjoy there job, which is a plus. Check in was a breeze, the rooms were very nice and the pool WOW very nice and clean. We really enjoyed the cookies. What was fun for the kids the staff gave them coupons to get treats at the desk with mom and dad's ok. This was a nice touch to a great stay.
Happy hour was nice we enjoyed a free drink and snacks what else could you ask for! Excellent is all we can say. Kids say thank you Country Inn and so do we!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a wonderful review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We used Country Inn & Suites, Ames, IA as our wedding hotel for all family and friends. They accomodated a large group of family and friends with no problems. Our family used the conference room for a rehearsal dinner and gift opening and the management was outstanding in working with us to make it a special occasion. All family members and friends loved the large breakfast area with good food choices and the large pool area. Beats any hotel in the area for handling a large group for several days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We were thrilled to have been a part of your wonderful occasion.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked a jacuzzi suite here after a long, hard, day, because I love the breakfast at the Country Inn chains, and the jacuzzi so that we could relax our tired muscles. First I went to put my soda in the fridge, and it was turned off. The overflow freezer tray was full of water and a soaked towel was in the bottom of the fridge. A look at the jacuzzi finds a small bug crawling around the drain. Turning the air conditioner on lasted a whole 5 minutes before it would shut off permanently for the night. A routine bedbug check finds "pubes" in the bed and we hadn't been in the bed yet obviously. No bedbugs however. Then the most disappointing thing of all. Breakfast. OMG, Country Inn advertises a hot breakfast, and this was scraping the bottom of the barrel WORST hot breakfast EVER in any hotel, and I am including very cheap motels here. AWFUL!!! This Country inn in Ames, Iowa strives to be the cheapest hotel possible. The hot breakfast??? An egg omelet which was almost all egg, and a few scraps of green peppers, wrapped in a tortilla shell. LMAO, I honestly was angry with this. I was tricked, duped, and taken by what I had always thought was a good, decent hotel chain. I don't know about you readers, but let me tell you, no one has ever offered me a tortilla omelet for breakfast. Probably because that is an idiotic choice for a breakfast item. There was no bacon, no sausage, no meat of any kind. Fruit? No. There was this omelet thing, waffles, or cereal. Oh, there were some bagels, english muffins, and toast also. We also were not offered any "complimentary" cookies. Thanks cheapskates. Also I emailed Country Inn Corp this review and told them I would give them a chance to respond before posting to tripadvisor. Their acknowledgement email said they woud respond within 48 hours, and guess what? No response. This might be my last stay at a Country Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed this issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Ames

Address: 2605 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.