We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iowa State Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Ames to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Iowa State Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went to Ames for an ISU basketball game. Location of the hotel was convenient. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Kids enjoyed free breakfast and the pool and spa area was very nice. Front desk explained all the amenities upon check-in and offered me free bottled water as a Hilton Honors member. Complimentary cookies and coffee in the reception area was also a nice touch. Will definitely stay here again when going to a Cyclones basketball or football game.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    61
    34
    24
    14
See reviews for
100
26
7
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The stay was excellent, very clean. Additionally the service was great and met my expectations. I would definatly recommend this hotel to someone else. Things to do within walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just like last year, we stayed here for a quick overnight stay while my duaghter attended an event on the ISU campus. The staff were super friendly at check-in and the room was clean and quiet. Just like last time, my main issue was the beds. Maybe it is just me since I don't see it mentioned in other reviews much, but the beds are just super, super uncomfortable. We have tried adjusting the firmness, one of the supposed perks of the beds, but we just can't get them to a point where my husband and I can sleep without feeling like we are rolling into the middle and hitting each other. We did like that wi-fi was included and the close proximity to campus. We stayed here again hoping the bed thing was just a fluke last year but likely won't be back again after having issues again this year. Like I said, maybe it is just us but it has scared me off from Hilton Garden Inn's for good at this point.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel was quaint and the staff were incredibly helpful and professional. I used the Business Center and Fitness Center and loved them both. The Internet connection was very quick and the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hotel was great. Stayed New Years Eve with my wife and young kids. Staff was excellent, cleanliness was superb. Hallway was noisy through the night with kids running up and down the hall slamming doors; normally I wouldn't mind except for trying to keep my kids asleep. I would prefer a firm pillow, myself, but that's just a matter of preference. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, lobby and restaurant were very accomodating and clean. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The hotel is located right off the highway so it was easy to find. It's also near several restaurants and close to Iowa State University for events. The wi-fi was included in the room which was nice for the kids to access with their electronics. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Ames, Iowa on 3 different occasions. Each stay was better then the last. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holiday season. As always, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom stocked with all the usual personal grooming supplies. The internet speed was adequate for all my needs. The adjustable bed was wonderful! I have arthritis and have undergone multiple joint replacements. I need a very soft bed and the number 2 of 5 was perfect. Although I did not eat in the dining area, I noticed it was very clean and the aromas coming from the breakfast buffet were most inviting. Both check-in and check-out were accomplished with speed and efficiency. This Hilton will continue to be my destination whenever I visit Ames.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Ames
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ames
Hampton Inn Ames
#8 of 19 in Ames
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gateway Center Hotel
Gateway Center Hotel
#11 of 19 in Ames
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.