We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Ames

Days Inn Ames
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Ames to your Saves list
Days Inn Ames
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   229 S. Duff Avenue, Ames, IA 50010   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Kingsley, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Front desk was very accommodating with friendly service. Location is easy to find just south of Lincoln Way on Duff Ave.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    47
    33
    49
See reviews for
73
25
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed at Days Inn Ames, Iowa on our waty to Mall of America, it was late and we had no reservation. The service was excellent, the room was the cleanest I think we have ever stayed in, continental breakfast in the morning was perfect and the price was very reasonable. We will certainly stay there again if we are ever through again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewell, nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

nice place in ames, ia. good complementary breakfast. new like rooms. very comfortable bed. located on duff road lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Springs,Ia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

The service we recieved was very good. The room were clean and room service was very good. It was nice to have a room without smoke oder in it. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because we were there to square dance at the collage. The location was good for us. Our destination was on Lincoln way. The continental breakfast was very good and the person in charge kept it well stocked and was courtious. If we had any questions they were there to answer them for us. We found ice machines and drink machines available. Towels were changed each day and the room made up. Our coffee machine in the room didn't work but we didn't get to letting the front desk now. My wife thought the room was a little cool when we arived but we got it warmed up some but I didn't think the heater was working quit right. Again we didn't get to saying anything to the front desk. The room was comfortable. We would come back the service was good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We reserved five rooms for a group of us for the Iowa State Square Dance Convention. The staff was very nice to work with. The rooms were clean. The breakfast room was kept clean and well stocked. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, IA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

After hearing rumors that a previous incarnation of the hotel wasn't very good, the stay was great! The hotel was very nice and clean, and very well kept despite the fact it isn't brand new and is situated in the middle of a college town. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. We had a large group with several rooms, and they did a great job helping us get checked-in quickly.

The location is very good with a la Fuente mexican restaurant literally steps from the front door and a Panera Bread across the street. There is a bar and grill half a block away and a very home-town bar just another block from that.

Location for sporting events is great, with easy access to the football stadium and basketball arena.

I'll definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

When traveling to Des Moines from the Twin Cities I like to stay in Ames since it's only a 30 minute drive away. The Days Inn is a great value, very comfortable and clean, with many good restaurants nearby, and free breakfast.

  • Liked — Good Price and Very Clean
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ames

Address: 229 S. Duff Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames Days Inn
Days Inn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.