We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but needs to be freshened” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Ames

Days Inn Ames
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Ames to your Saves list
Days Inn Ames
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   229 S. Duff Avenue, Ames, IA 50010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Lakeside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok but needs to be freshened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The front desk staff was very helpful. However, the maid forgot to come by one of the 4 days I was there so I had to come down and get my own towels. The breakfast was awful consisting of bread to make toast, oatmeal, orange drink and yogurts and lousy coffee. Lid to the trash was in the sink and the trash bag was on the floor. The room looked like it had been decorated decades ago. It was clean enough but the bathroom needed painting and the base of the toilet leaked slightly. The bed was average. The room was ok for 2 but that's about all that would fit comfortably. There is no closet. Many of the lights and the clock were unplugged upon my arrival. Sound from the hallway came through as if my door was open.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    45
    30
    40
See reviews for
69
24
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were here for an ISU Orientation. This "hotel" offered no greetings, not enough towels, no iron or board in the room and the rooms are small, musty and in need of a deep cleaning. Breakfast was also cold and disappointing. Whatever you pay for this room, it is too much.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were staying for 2 nights, and we had bought a room on the second floor with two queen beds. When we got there we found that the parking lot was very narrow and, there was no elevator. We had to carry our bags up the stairs. When we got into our room we found that we had two double beds instead of queens. We unpacked our drinks, but found that the refrigerator did not work. We went out for the day. Then we came back to sleep. We turned on the air conditioner and it was very loud. We called the guy working at the front desk, but he couldn't fix it. So, the air conditioner would turn on and off all through the night. When we woke up to shower there was not enough pressure, and the towels were very small. We would have checked out, but we knew we wouldn't get a refund. And it cost $120 each night! We went down to the breakfast area that was very small, so we just decided to go out to eat. When we got back there was an odor in the room that smelled like sewer. We called the guy at the front desk. He brought up air freshener. He sprayed so much that we could hardly breathe, but at least it smelled better. When we woke up in the morning it smelled again, but we were leaving. Overall, this was a horrible experience. This Days Inn is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. It is old and smelly and small. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Overall my experience was ok. It was a good deal for a college student needing to spend a week there and didn't have too much money to spend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ames

Address: 229 S. Duff Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames Days Inn
Days Inn Ames Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Ames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.