We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, not the German food we were expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ronneburg Restaurant

The Ronneburg Restaurant
4408 220th Trl, Amana, IA 52203-8035
319-622-3641
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Amana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing, not the German food we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have traveled across the U.S. and have also been to Germany. Compared to other German style restaurants in the U.S. and actual German restaurants in Germany, this restaurant was an absolute disappointment. We ordered the family style Sauerbraten with potato dumpling and the Jäger schnitzel. Both meat dishes were very tough and the spaetzle was bland and a little greasy. The sides appeared more to have an American flare to them...canned corn, very creamy/mayo coleslaw, and we had no idea where the cottage cheese fit in. The sauerkraut had a different sweet taste. Simply put, we were not impressed and would not go back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    75
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service was outstanding, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

the main entrees were not as good as other restaurants in the area. However, their sides: pickled beets, cole slaw, dumplings, fried potatoes & gravy and cottage cheese were EXCELLENT!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quite good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The ambiance was what should be expected of a place like this. The wait staff was very good. The Weinerschnitzel was as good as what I have had in Germany. Although they only serve it with mashed potatoes on Sundays. I prefer mine with frites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good family style Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a family dinner for our daughters graduation from University of Iowa. Great food and good service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, Wonderful service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This reviews for this restaurant were right on! Our waitress was attentive, and the food was scrumptious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ronneburg Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ronneburg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ronneburg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.