We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Machine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Adventureland Inn
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
Prosper, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Time Machine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I are originally from Iowa, born and raised and this past weekend we made the trip back to spend some time with family. Unfortunately we picked the weekend of the Iowa/Iowa State Football game in Ames so we were forced to stay in a hotel between Des Moines and Ames in Altoona. I specifically picked the Adventure Land Hotel because it was rated 4+ stars and because of my recollection of that property from the 1970s when it was built. Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't appear to have been updated since its construction in the '70s. Now while that is a bit of an exaggeration, it's not much of a stretch to say it is extremely outdated and reminded me of the Winchester Mansion with it's maze of hallways and disjointed connector halls and elevators. Our room had no outside windows or doors and was about as bright as a photo darkroom. The towels were tiny, the shower looked and worked like they purchased it at the Dollar Store. We paid $200/night for a room that was more like a $70/night room. The room was clean and the cleaning staff friendly, courteous and conscientious which is the only reason I didn't give the property one star instead of two. I have spent my life and career traveling the United States and the world on business and this is truly one of my more disappointing stays at any hotel, ever.

Room Tip: My advise is that if you want a nice room go to a different property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Ron, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay at Adventureland Inn. We apologize your stay was not as justified as you were expecting. We value your constructive criticism which will in turn helps us better the quality of our hotel. Each year, we go through every room on property and make improvements to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay with us. We appreciate your thoughts and will use that on the inspection of this room to better the quality of the stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    36
    27
    36
See reviews for
102
Couples
0
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice room, we had a room pool side and it was noisy but that was expected. Plenty of room there, and clean enough. Rooms do cost more than what I think they should, but not to over the top. Pool was good, but again best suited for younger kids. Food was good, fair priced. Overall good experience and will be back i'm sure.

Room Tip: West side pool seemed quieter, East has the swim up bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We'd like to take the time to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us with the exception of the noise and the room prices. We do offer a coupon on our website and special promotions on our Facebook page for room rates on certain dates. We hope your next stay is more enjoyable than the first. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralston, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great place for the weekend. We spent a day at the park after we checked in to the hotel. We got a shuttle ride to the park, so didn't have to pay for parking at the park. Plus we got dropped off at the gate. We had a family suite, poolside, which was great for the small kids in our group. The "referee" at the pool was very friendly, but kept the kids in line! We had breakfast at the buffet. The food from the buffet line was not very warm, but that was the only complaint we had for the entire visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Judy, We'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed the shuttle to the park and our breakfast buffet. We value your thoughts and opinions and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding. Front desk staff were helpful with early check-ins and gave us vehicle passes to visit family in Adventureland Campground.

Booked 2 junior suites poolside. We were pleased with our rooms. They had good amenities and were clean and new.

Disappointed in the pool areas which were billed as a waterpark, but really had only a couple water features. Although the kids had fun for there for our one night, we have stayed for less money at hotels with nicer waterparks.

The hotel itself is large and rambling. Obviously they have built on over time. Long walks from the rooms to the front. The ballroom we had for the wedding ceremony and supper was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us and value your thoughts on our property. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Junior Suites along with the ballroom for the wedding. We can understand your disappointment in the pool areas if it were billed as a waterpark. We try to explain our pools as water amenities so that there is no confusion as to what our pools offer for water features. We thank you again for your review and hope to serve you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ida grove
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are handicapped I would advise you to find a different hotel. The set up for handicapped leaves much to be desired. There are elevators which are nice,but the problem is they should be near the handicapped rooms instead of the opposite end of floor, or should I say 3 long halls from the handicapped rooms!
The rooms are large enough for a scooter and I would suggest you bring one if you stay here just to get around in the building!
The staff was very helpful and quite friendly and the rooms were nice! (Ours could have used some better lighting or a window though)
.I just think when making a handicap rooms you should consider the handicapped. Also if there would have been a fire I wouldn't have been able to write this as I wouldn't have made it down from the 2nd floor in time.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped ask for a room close to the elevator and maybe on the main floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
On behalf of the Hotel General Manager, Matthew Krantz:

Thank you for your review. The Ladies and Gentlemen at Adventureland Inn truly appreciate your feedback, and are sorry that you did not find your accommodations to be in line with your expectations. Any explanation would sound like excuses, and there simply is no excuse for offering less than exemplary guest service. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please contact me at 515-265-7321 or Matthew@Adventureland-inn.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Very Truly,

Matthew Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night at adventureland inn on our recent getaway to the park in Aug 2013. We had a pretty good stay and a great time being together as a family!

The goods...awesome location! We loved the trolley to adventureland. Employees we encountered were all so friendly! As a family of six, its hard to find a hotel that allows six so we loved the junior family suite option! Room was spacious and looked out into the pool area. We enjoyed sitting on our patio having a snack. The pool areas were great. Our littlest adored the kiddie area and must have done the frog slide 150 times! The older kids liked the other courtyard with a slide for them. Hot tubs were great too. Everthing was very clean.

The not so goods. Beds were really hard and neither my husband or I slept well. Also the jr suites open out to the pool and bar area. Music was very loud and kids were screaming and doors slamming until well after 11pm. They did close the area and turn things off promptly at 1030 but there was no getting the kids to bed before that. It was very loud. From midnight to 7am it was pretty quiet. Finally the bright light from the courtyard leaked through the shades on the window and we could not get the room dark. I had hoped it would be dimmed when the pool closed but no such luck.

All in all, we love the pools, location and rooms but unless the beds were better and we could get a quieter room I am not sure we will stay here again. Too bad really because its a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our courtyards, trolley to Adventureland Park, and the room patios. We value your constructive criticism so we can improve our property to help accommodate each and every guest. We have passed the not so goods on to the prospective departments in hopes of changes to better each guests stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

the pool areas are warm and very enjoyable! room was a little outdated. be careful when asking for a pool view balcony room. We had a balcony overlooking pool room.. but it overlooked the restaurant and not the pool. no breakfast is included

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Denise, We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at the hotel. Each year we focus on a different aspect of the hotel that could use some improvement and are looking into different bedding packages to update the sleeping rooms this Fall. We apologize for the misrepresentation if we stated every balcony room over the West Courtyard has a pool view. We encourage our reservationists to explain the balcony rooms as courtyard views to avoid any confusion. We hope that we will be able to serve you through our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Hotel
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa
Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.