We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Altoona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adventureland Inn
Save
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Davenport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visit Adventureland every year and always stay at the Adventureland Inn. I have to admit we were a little disappointed this time. We have always been pleased with our stays at this hotel as it's close to the park with a complimentary shuttle, the rooms are decent, and customer service is good. There was something a little different this time, however. I will try to list the pros and cons.
First, our room was not ready until late in the afternoon. Not a problem since we were at the park most of the day. We were told it was not only because they had been booked full from the weekend but because they were short of help. When we did return to check in, we were assigned a room in the complete opposite direction of the lobby, clear across the hotel. We were given a map but no other directions as to the best way to reach it or even where to park to unload. The room had a funky smell so we quickly went back to request a different room and one on the second floor to avoid listening to little feet running above us. We were promptly reassigned to the same general area. Again, we were given a map but no directions for the easiest way to reach it nor where the closest elevator was. The front desk staff was not helpful or as friendly as they usually are. When we inquired about directions to the local Applebees (where we had eaten during a previous stay), the desk clerk had no idea where it was or how to get there though it was just a short drive away, near many other restaurants and a Wal-Mart.
The room itself is okay. It was clean and had a mini-fridge and coffee-maker. The shower had great pressure and felt good after a long day at the park. However, the toilet did not always want to flush. The beds and pillows were AWFUL. They were so uncomfortable and I slept terrible. I do not remember them being this bad before. There were no room darkening shades on the window and the bright sunlight hindered any chance of sleeping in. There was also no channel guide in the room. Not being from the Des Moines area, we had no idea what the channels were and had to surf them all to find something. I called the front desk to inquire about one and was told I could pick one up there. Really? A poorly xeroxed copy of a channel guide couldn't be kept in the room for the guests' convenience? The room prices are a bit steep for what you get but I know you are paying for convenience and location.
The pools and swim up bar are nice though very crowded. At one point there were so many bodies in the water, it looked like the scene from Titanic when the ship finally sank. My children had no place to actually swim and got jumped on and kicked. Jenevieve from the bar was very nice and helpful. Towels are provided which is another nice and appreciated amenity.
Because of our troubles, we were comped a breakfast buffet one morning. I am so glad we did not pay for this. I am sorry to the staff that prepares this but it was awful!!! The fresh fruit was delicious and the hash browns had a nice flavor but very limited variety of anything else. The eggs and pancakes were even bad, rubbery. We did not eat at any of the other restaurants because they were not good in the past and the prices too high. We rarely saw other patrons there as well. My recommendation is to really work on the quality of food to keep the guests there in the hotel. Great convenience for the guests and revenue for the hotel, win-win. I personally hate leaving for dinner but will not waste that amount of money on poor quality food since we do that all day at the park.
Overall this is an acceptable place to stay. We love the trolley, the pool and bar are nice, and the rooms provide what you need. I am sure we will stay there again next year but would love to see a few little improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
On behalf of our General Hotel Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Thank you for your review. The Ladies and Gentlemen at Adventureland Inn truly appreciate your feedback, and are disappointed to hear about your concerns with our front desk staff and food service. Any explanation would sound like excuses, and there simply is no excuse for offering less than exemplary guest service. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please contact me at 515-265-7321 or Matthew@Adventureland-inn.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Very Truly,

Matthew Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    45
    35
    38
See reviews for
120
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a property that has some age but is well maintained. We had a poolside room which was great fun for everyone! There are three pools available but we utilized the main pool with a slide and hot tub. The room had a small patio that looked out on to the pool/courtyard area that came in handy for relaxing while watching others in our party enjoyed the water. The room itself was clean and spacious and again, well maintained. The Inn also provided transportation to and from Adventureland park (that saved the parking fee and hassle) which was great! The Inn provided a flat-screen television and refrigerator as well as shampoo and conditioner. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate at the breakfast buffet and dinner buffet and it was typical buffet fare. The breakfast buffet was especially good with lots of variety. Neither buffet was included in with the room.

Room Tip: A poolside room is great if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
On behalf of our General Hotel Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Thank you for submitting your accurate review of our property, especially with regards to our efforts at maintaining the rooms and general facility. We have been serving our guests for 45 years and make great efforts to keep modern while maintaining the nostalgia that so many of our families are looking to share with new generations. Feedback such as this is valued and will be taken into consideration, as we are always striving to maintain a high level of excellence. We look forward to sesrving you and youer family again on a future stay.

Best Regards,
Matthew Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Adventureland Inn July 3rd and 4th and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is an older hotel that caters to families with children that are attending the nearby Adventureland amusement/water park. While not a luxury hotel, it is very attractive and clean. The pools are situated in two large tropical courtyards. We stayed in a poolside room in the west courtyard. The west courtyard contains one pool with two slides. The east courtyard has two pools, one with a swim up bar, the other for small children with a frog and dumping buckets. We chose the west courtyard thinking it would suit our older children and would be quieter and we were right. One night we ate at the restaurant and sat in an area that overlooks the pool. The food was good (not great) and priced very reasonable (same as any sit down casual family restaurant). There are signs that state that you can't bring in outside food into the courtyard, and they do enforce this rule. I can see how this rule helps keep the courtyard clean. Our room had a small patio a couple of steps up from the pool that was perfect for morning coffee, evening drinks, and pizza dinner with relatives that were also staying in the hotel. Our room was a very standard size room as at any hotel. We added a roll away bed for only 10.00 that fit perfectly between the two double beds. This left the walkways clear, although everyone had to exit at the foot of the beds. The roll away is best suited for a child or teen. A nice feature that is great for a family of 5 is that our room had two sinks. One in the bathroom and one just outside the bathroom. There is a slight "pool" smell in the courtyards, but what can one expect with three indoor pools and two hot tubs enclosed in a hotel. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle was convenient. We all had a fantastic time at the picturesque amusement park!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and your time at the park. We appreciate your opinion and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. We booked 8 rooms for a family reunion and I stayed in the 2 room suite on the East courtyard. The hotel was full, but our room was very quiet, except for the noise from the interior corridor with kids running and screaming. One call to the front desk did put an end to that. The front desk service was outstanding and friendly. Our only complaint was that our room, where everyone was hanging out (room 181), did not have proper air conditioning. It was cooling, but not nearly enough. We asked to have it fixed, but even though they sent a repair man, there was no change. The rest of our family reported that their rooms were "freezing" if they let the A/C run. Our room was clammy.
Overall, you are paying for location and two nice indoor pool areas. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. We used the extra pillows on the shelf instead of the ones on the bed, which made a huge difference. Book this hotel if you would like easy access to Adventureland Park, or if you would like to spend the weekend hanging out at the pool, not if you're looking for luxury accommodations.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows or use the provided extra pillows. It's hot and humid in the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a response on your stay at our hotel. We have taken your concerns with room 181 to our Maintenance team. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I grew up minutes away from Adventureland and have stayed at the Inn many times. Since we were going to be in town visiting family I was excited to plan a 2-night stay at the expanded Inn and visit the amusement park to celebrate our son's 10th birthday. I booked the most expensive room, a poolside family suite, plus a separate room for my in-laws. The check-in staff was very nice and helpful.

Our room was small, dark and musty smelling. The A/C was turned way down and even setting it at the highest setting it never got really cool and comfortable in the room. Both refrigerators were turned off to save energy, but turning them on to cool down used way more energy that just leaving them cold and shut between patrons. There was long dark hair on the floor of the bathroom when we arrived. (My hair is short and blonde...) the air vents were dirty and covered in mold, and the room was not very clean. The fold-out sofa bed was broken and we had to both pull really hard to get it folded out. Then the next day we could not get it to fold up. The frame was bent and the sofa was falling apart. It was terribly inconvenient to not have a couch to sit on. The bottles of shampoo, etc were so small that you could only wash 2 people, even though there were 5 of us in a family suite. We spent the day at the park and that was awesome. The pools were really nice and clean. I liked that a 'referee' was on duty what nag all the activity for safety reasons.
Overall I was disappointed in the Inn. It just seemed so tired and worn. Very little attention to the little things that make a stay comfortable. I didn't expect it to be super fancy, but it wasn't any where close to the quality of the Holiday Inn Express we stayed at several nights ago. No free breakfast, old bedding and furnishings, cheap in every aspect. So sad......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
On behalf of our General Hotel Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Hello from Adventureland,
Thank you for submitting your review of our property. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as we always aim to maintain the highest level of excellence. I am Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our courtyards and pools If you would like to further discuss your disappointments please feel free to contact me directly.
Best regards,
Matthew Krantz General Hotel Manager
Matthew@advenureland-inn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a fun find! Stayed there the night before going to the park next door and the kids had an absolute blast! Two wings with two different pool types. Tons of chairs. Swim up bar in the pool for adults. Slides for the kids. Rooms were clean and comfy and everything was very well taken care of. You can request a room with a balcony that steps right down to the pool so parents can chill on their deck and watch the fun. The place is huge! They have a trolley that shuttles you to the park so you save the parking fee and don't have to even move your car. (Although, we just walked back because it was only .1 mile and took about 30 seconds to walk. ) No workout facility, but if you go to Adventureland or swim, you will get plenty of exercise. ;) Loved it!!! Highly suggest!!! Staff super fun and friendly as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay us. We love hearing the fun times families have at our property and at the park. We look forward to serving you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keokuk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday. It was just OK. Over priced in my opinion $179.00. We were given a handicap room because that is all that was left. The room was pretty big but very outdated. There was no window and only 2 lamps and the bathroom light so it was dark. We felt like we were in a box. The decor was from the 70's along with the popcorn ceiling. The shower was slippery with no mat to prevent fall. Not sure why it would be this way being a handicap room. Bed was just okay. Bedding was outdated and didn't feel clean so we used our own blankets and pillows. TV was a flat screen but the channels only went upto 22 and were not in HD.

Staff was nice, but not overly helpful. Pool area is nice for smaller children. Signs everywhere about not bringing in your own drink or food so they can over charge you for theirs. When we were there the swim up bar was not open and the pop machine on our floor was out of order. We didn't try the restaurant.

There is a shuttle to and from the park. That was convenient. They warn you that you have to wear your ristband at all times and if it were to become lost you have to pay $20 for a new one. They gave us 5 at check-in but we only needed 3.

We won't stay againi just because it was so out dated. We prefer nicer rooms with HD TV and faster internet. If you have small children then it is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
On behalf of our General Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Teresa,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. It is always very helpful to receive all levels of criticism as it is the only way to continually improve our property and the services we offer. It is unfortunate that you had literally the last available room that we had. We are doing everything in our power to assist our Convention & visitor's Bureau with overflowing soccer tournament attendees. The space, design, and layout of our accessible rooms are tailored to accommodation and access rather than luxury. In any other situation, we would have been happy to offer different accommodations as we have 7 different room types. We will have our maintenance team investigate the TV in your room as every TV in our property has full HD capability and should receive all HD broadcasted channels. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience these events may have caused.
We do our absolute best to provide very high grade accommodations to all of our guests, but we focus on guests traveling with children attending Adventureland Amusement Park. We have always been aimed to be comfortable and refined without making a family feel alienated as often happens in a boutique style facility. We truly apologize that we could not accommodate you in a manner that you were looking for. We will share your impressions with our entire staff as evidence of a room for improvement, and truly hope that you will consider staying with us again while on future travels.

Matthew J. Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.