We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, fun, enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
Adventureland Inn
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean, fun, enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Adventureland Inn July 3rd and 4th and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is an older hotel that caters to families with children that are attending the nearby Adventureland amusement/water park. While not a luxury hotel, it is very attractive and clean. The pools are situated in two large tropical courtyards. We stayed in a poolside room in the west courtyard. The west courtyard contains one pool with two slides. The east courtyard has two pools, one with a swim up bar, the other for small children with a frog and dumping buckets. We chose the west courtyard thinking it would suit our older children and would be quieter and we were right. One night we ate at the restaurant and sat in an area that overlooks the pool. The food was good (not great) and priced very reasonable (same as any sit down casual family restaurant). There are signs that state that you can't bring in outside food into the courtyard, and they do enforce this rule. I can see how this rule helps keep the courtyard clean. Our room had a small patio a couple of steps up from the pool that was perfect for morning coffee, evening drinks, and pizza dinner with relatives that were also staying in the hotel. Our room was a very standard size room as at any hotel. We added a roll away bed for only 10.00 that fit perfectly between the two double beds. This left the walkways clear, although everyone had to exit at the foot of the beds. The roll away is best suited for a child or teen. A nice feature that is great for a family of 5 is that our room had two sinks. One in the bathroom and one just outside the bathroom. There is a slight "pool" smell in the courtyards, but what can one expect with three indoor pools and two hot tubs enclosed in a hotel. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle was convenient. We all had a fantastic time at the picturesque amusement park!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and your time at the park. We appreciate your opinion and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    44
    34
    38
See reviews for
119
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. We booked 8 rooms for a family reunion and I stayed in the 2 room suite on the East courtyard. The hotel was full, but our room was very quiet, except for the noise from the interior corridor with kids running and screaming. One call to the front desk did put an end to that. The front desk service was outstanding and friendly. Our only complaint was that our room, where everyone was hanging out (room 181), did not have proper air conditioning. It was cooling, but not nearly enough. We asked to have it fixed, but even though they sent a repair man, there was no change. The rest of our family reported that their rooms were "freezing" if they let the A/C run. Our room was clammy.
Overall, you are paying for location and two nice indoor pool areas. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. We used the extra pillows on the shelf instead of the ones on the bed, which made a huge difference. Book this hotel if you would like easy access to Adventureland Park, or if you would like to spend the weekend hanging out at the pool, not if you're looking for luxury accommodations.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows or use the provided extra pillows. It's hot and humid in the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a response on your stay at our hotel. We have taken your concerns with room 181 to our Maintenance team. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I grew up minutes away from Adventureland and have stayed at the Inn many times. Since we were going to be in town visiting family I was excited to plan a 2-night stay at the expanded Inn and visit the amusement park to celebrate our son's 10th birthday. I booked the most expensive room, a poolside family suite, plus a separate room for my in-laws. The check-in staff was very nice and helpful.

Our room was small, dark and musty smelling. The A/C was turned way down and even setting it at the highest setting it never got really cool and comfortable in the room. Both refrigerators were turned off to save energy, but turning them on to cool down used way more energy that just leaving them cold and shut between patrons. There was long dark hair on the floor of the bathroom when we arrived. (My hair is short and blonde...) the air vents were dirty and covered in mold, and the room was not very clean. The fold-out sofa bed was broken and we had to both pull really hard to get it folded out. Then the next day we could not get it to fold up. The frame was bent and the sofa was falling apart. It was terribly inconvenient to not have a couch to sit on. The bottles of shampoo, etc were so small that you could only wash 2 people, even though there were 5 of us in a family suite. We spent the day at the park and that was awesome. The pools were really nice and clean. I liked that a 'referee' was on duty what nag all the activity for safety reasons.
Overall I was disappointed in the Inn. It just seemed so tired and worn. Very little attention to the little things that make a stay comfortable. I didn't expect it to be super fancy, but it wasn't any where close to the quality of the Holiday Inn Express we stayed at several nights ago. No free breakfast, old bedding and furnishings, cheap in every aspect. So sad......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
On behalf of our General Hotel Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Hello from Adventureland,
Thank you for submitting your review of our property. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as we always aim to maintain the highest level of excellence. I am Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our courtyards and pools If you would like to further discuss your disappointments please feel free to contact me directly.
Best regards,
Matthew Krantz General Hotel Manager
Matthew@advenureland-inn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a fun find! Stayed there the night before going to the park next door and the kids had an absolute blast! Two wings with two different pool types. Tons of chairs. Swim up bar in the pool for adults. Slides for the kids. Rooms were clean and comfy and everything was very well taken care of. You can request a room with a balcony that steps right down to the pool so parents can chill on their deck and watch the fun. The place is huge! They have a trolley that shuttles you to the park so you save the parking fee and don't have to even move your car. (Although, we just walked back because it was only .1 mile and took about 30 seconds to walk. ) No workout facility, but if you go to Adventureland or swim, you will get plenty of exercise. ;) Loved it!!! Highly suggest!!! Staff super fun and friendly as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay us. We love hearing the fun times families have at our property and at the park. We look forward to serving you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keokuk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday. It was just OK. Over priced in my opinion $179.00. We were given a handicap room because that is all that was left. The room was pretty big but very outdated. There was no window and only 2 lamps and the bathroom light so it was dark. We felt like we were in a box. The decor was from the 70's along with the popcorn ceiling. The shower was slippery with no mat to prevent fall. Not sure why it would be this way being a handicap room. Bed was just okay. Bedding was outdated and didn't feel clean so we used our own blankets and pillows. TV was a flat screen but the channels only went upto 22 and were not in HD.

Staff was nice, but not overly helpful. Pool area is nice for smaller children. Signs everywhere about not bringing in your own drink or food so they can over charge you for theirs. When we were there the swim up bar was not open and the pop machine on our floor was out of order. We didn't try the restaurant.

There is a shuttle to and from the park. That was convenient. They warn you that you have to wear your ristband at all times and if it were to become lost you have to pay $20 for a new one. They gave us 5 at check-in but we only needed 3.

We won't stay againi just because it was so out dated. We prefer nicer rooms with HD TV and faster internet. If you have small children then it is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
On behalf of our General Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Teresa,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. It is always very helpful to receive all levels of criticism as it is the only way to continually improve our property and the services we offer. It is unfortunate that you had literally the last available room that we had. We are doing everything in our power to assist our Convention & visitor's Bureau with overflowing soccer tournament attendees. The space, design, and layout of our accessible rooms are tailored to accommodation and access rather than luxury. In any other situation, we would have been happy to offer different accommodations as we have 7 different room types. We will have our maintenance team investigate the TV in your room as every TV in our property has full HD capability and should receive all HD broadcasted channels. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience these events may have caused.
We do our absolute best to provide very high grade accommodations to all of our guests, but we focus on guests traveling with children attending Adventureland Amusement Park. We have always been aimed to be comfortable and refined without making a family feel alienated as often happens in a boutique style facility. We truly apologize that we could not accommodate you in a manner that you were looking for. We will share your impressions with our entire staff as evidence of a room for improvement, and truly hope that you will consider staying with us again while on future travels.

Matthew J. Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ord, NE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 days at Adventureland Inn and amusement park with our grandchildren and loved every minute of it. The room was immaculate and the pools were so handy. The motel pool attendants were wonderful. The rides at the park were clean and kept up and we all had the thrills of our life! Would recommend this trip to any family with young children. The food at the motel and at the park was reasonably priced and there was a big variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here with my sister, brother-in-law, and 2 nephews (ages 4 and 2). There isn't a more perfect hotel in the Des Moines metro area. Great pools for the kids- zero depth entry into one, water slides, and then a deeper pool for adults- complete with a swim-up bar! All rooms are poolside so if you're on the first floor, you can just walk out to the pool! Rooms are huge- lots of room for big families.
Right next to Adventureland Park so it's super convenient and you can take the trolly for free- to and from the park!
Great place, FANTASTIC food in the restaurant and perfect atmosphere for fun-loving families!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.