We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventureland Inn, We WILL return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventureland Inn
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Adventureland Inn, We WILL return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a fun find! Stayed there the night before going to the park next door and the kids had an absolute blast! Two wings with two different pool types. Tons of chairs. Swim up bar in the pool for adults. Slides for the kids. Rooms were clean and comfy and everything was very well taken care of. You can request a room with a balcony that steps right down to the pool so parents can chill on their deck and watch the fun. The place is huge! They have a trolley that shuttles you to the park so you save the parking fee and don't have to even move your car. (Although, we just walked back because it was only .1 mile and took about 30 seconds to walk. ) No workout facility, but if you go to Adventureland or swim, you will get plenty of exercise. ;) Loved it!!! Highly suggest!!! Staff super fun and friendly as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay us. We love hearing the fun times families have at our property and at the park. We look forward to serving you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    40
    30
    38
See reviews for
112
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keokuk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday. It was just OK. Over priced in my opinion $179.00. We were given a handicap room because that is all that was left. The room was pretty big but very outdated. There was no window and only 2 lamps and the bathroom light so it was dark. We felt like we were in a box. The decor was from the 70's along with the popcorn ceiling. The shower was slippery with no mat to prevent fall. Not sure why it would be this way being a handicap room. Bed was just okay. Bedding was outdated and didn't feel clean so we used our own blankets and pillows. TV was a flat screen but the channels only went upto 22 and were not in HD.

Staff was nice, but not overly helpful. Pool area is nice for smaller children. Signs everywhere about not bringing in your own drink or food so they can over charge you for theirs. When we were there the swim up bar was not open and the pop machine on our floor was out of order. We didn't try the restaurant.

There is a shuttle to and from the park. That was convenient. They warn you that you have to wear your ristband at all times and if it were to become lost you have to pay $20 for a new one. They gave us 5 at check-in but we only needed 3.

We won't stay againi just because it was so out dated. We prefer nicer rooms with HD TV and faster internet. If you have small children then it is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
On behalf of our General Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Teresa,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. It is always very helpful to receive all levels of criticism as it is the only way to continually improve our property and the services we offer. It is unfortunate that you had literally the last available room that we had. We are doing everything in our power to assist our Convention & visitor's Bureau with overflowing soccer tournament attendees. The space, design, and layout of our accessible rooms are tailored to accommodation and access rather than luxury. In any other situation, we would have been happy to offer different accommodations as we have 7 different room types. We will have our maintenance team investigate the TV in your room as every TV in our property has full HD capability and should receive all HD broadcasted channels. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience these events may have caused.
We do our absolute best to provide very high grade accommodations to all of our guests, but we focus on guests traveling with children attending Adventureland Amusement Park. We have always been aimed to be comfortable and refined without making a family feel alienated as often happens in a boutique style facility. We truly apologize that we could not accommodate you in a manner that you were looking for. We will share your impressions with our entire staff as evidence of a room for improvement, and truly hope that you will consider staying with us again while on future travels.

Matthew J. Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ord, NE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 days at Adventureland Inn and amusement park with our grandchildren and loved every minute of it. The room was immaculate and the pools were so handy. The motel pool attendants were wonderful. The rides at the park were clean and kept up and we all had the thrills of our life! Would recommend this trip to any family with young children. The food at the motel and at the park was reasonably priced and there was a big variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here with my sister, brother-in-law, and 2 nephews (ages 4 and 2). There isn't a more perfect hotel in the Des Moines metro area. Great pools for the kids- zero depth entry into one, water slides, and then a deeper pool for adults- complete with a swim-up bar! All rooms are poolside so if you're on the first floor, you can just walk out to the pool! Rooms are huge- lots of room for big families.
Right next to Adventureland Park so it's super convenient and you can take the trolly for free- to and from the park!
Great place, FANTASTIC food in the restaurant and perfect atmosphere for fun-loving families!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, visited the amusement park two days. First day for the water park second day for the other rides. Took our 2 yr old daughter- it was PERFECT! She was able to ride several rides, loved the park and waterpark, its a nice clean park. Spent our evenings in the hotel pool- ate at the hotel restaurant once which was nice. Loved that we could just take the trolley to the park. Overall best vacation our new little family has taken so far- cant wait to go again.

Only thing I'll do differently next time is to pick a room farther from the pool. Our daughter goes to bed at 7 still so being next to the pool which is open until 10 made it hard for her to get to sleep plus she was just excited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have been to Adventureland Inn many times. It is VERY conveniently located right next to Adventureland Park. Originally it had only one indoor pool but has expanded to two indoor pools. One with a swim up bar. One of the pools also has a kiddie section(shallow water and toys). Rooms are comfortable and kept clean. The restaurant is good. Many years ago it was not the highlight of the hotel but it has continually gotten better. There is a trolley that runs to and from the hotel to the park that is VERY convenient. I gave this hotel a 4 out 5. It gets the nod for being so convenient to the park but the restaurant kept it from getting a 5.

Room Tip: If you have kids or even if YOU like to swim ask for a lower level next to the pools. It will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently took our boys (4 and 6yrs old) to Adventureland Inn for a little "tropical fun" since the Iowa winter seems to be hanging on extra long this year. The kids, my husband, and I enjoyed our stay very much! I booked online, check-in was smooth and easy, we especially like that they have a wristband policy to keep the pool population to hotel guests only, we ordered pizza from the restaurant (very good), the room was spacious and clean, pool areas were perfect for the ages of our boys, and we really had a great time. Checkout was smooth and easy and the hotel staff was very friendly. Overall we had a fantastic stay and our boys are already asking to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.