We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Altoona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adventureland Inn
Save
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Ord, NE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 days at Adventureland Inn and amusement park with our grandchildren and loved every minute of it. The room was immaculate and the pools were so handy. The motel pool attendants were wonderful. The rides at the park were clean and kept up and we all had the thrills of our life! Would recommend this trip to any family with young children. The food at the motel and at the park was reasonably priced and there was a big variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    45
    36
    38
See reviews for
120
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here with my sister, brother-in-law, and 2 nephews (ages 4 and 2). There isn't a more perfect hotel in the Des Moines metro area. Great pools for the kids- zero depth entry into one, water slides, and then a deeper pool for adults- complete with a swim-up bar! All rooms are poolside so if you're on the first floor, you can just walk out to the pool! Rooms are huge- lots of room for big families.
Right next to Adventureland Park so it's super convenient and you can take the trolly for free- to and from the park!
Great place, FANTASTIC food in the restaurant and perfect atmosphere for fun-loving families!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, visited the amusement park two days. First day for the water park second day for the other rides. Took our 2 yr old daughter- it was PERFECT! She was able to ride several rides, loved the park and waterpark, its a nice clean park. Spent our evenings in the hotel pool- ate at the hotel restaurant once which was nice. Loved that we could just take the trolley to the park. Overall best vacation our new little family has taken so far- cant wait to go again.

Only thing I'll do differently next time is to pick a room farther from the pool. Our daughter goes to bed at 7 still so being next to the pool which is open until 10 made it hard for her to get to sleep plus she was just excited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have been to Adventureland Inn many times. It is VERY conveniently located right next to Adventureland Park. Originally it had only one indoor pool but has expanded to two indoor pools. One with a swim up bar. One of the pools also has a kiddie section(shallow water and toys). Rooms are comfortable and kept clean. The restaurant is good. Many years ago it was not the highlight of the hotel but it has continually gotten better. There is a trolley that runs to and from the hotel to the park that is VERY convenient. I gave this hotel a 4 out 5. It gets the nod for being so convenient to the park but the restaurant kept it from getting a 5.

Room Tip: If you have kids or even if YOU like to swim ask for a lower level next to the pools. It will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently took our boys (4 and 6yrs old) to Adventureland Inn for a little "tropical fun" since the Iowa winter seems to be hanging on extra long this year. The kids, my husband, and I enjoyed our stay very much! I booked online, check-in was smooth and easy, we especially like that they have a wristband policy to keep the pool population to hotel guests only, we ordered pizza from the restaurant (very good), the room was spacious and clean, pool areas were perfect for the ages of our boys, and we really had a great time. Checkout was smooth and easy and the hotel staff was very friendly. Overall we had a fantastic stay and our boys are already asking to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Attended a conference here. Staff was outstanding. There was a tiny bit of mold in the top of the shower, but the room was very clean and comfortable. If you have kids, they will love the pools. It's not a fancy indoor water park, but does offer two large indoor pools and a fun place to swim. For business travelers, the wireless was weak and it would have been nice to have a fitness room instead of having to run outside in the 20 degree March weather. The menu in the restaurant was not very interesting, but the food was prepared well. There is a casino next door and in the summer, the amusement park is very convenient. There didn't seem to be much else nearby, but downtown Des Moines was a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was leary of staying here with all the bad reviews, but got our room for $64 with season passes adn had no where else to go for Spring Break so why not? Upon check in I was given my choice of standard room (does not open to pool). Chose a room (169) close to an outside door and close to the kiddie pool courtyard. Rooms are large. Beds and pillows standard, but fine. Comforter was a little "dirty", but we all know they don't wash those but once a month. Blanket was threadbare -- nothing I am worried about. Room seemed clean and well-stocked. When I took a shower, the non-skid mat in the tub started to float up and I realized it was only half glued down. It clearly wasn't beaing cleaned under it so, that was the only thing that kind of skeeved me out. Family with small children next door to us and we didn't hear a peep from them unless in the hallway. Pool area was very warm...too warm for anyone in street clothes to sit and watch. Pool water in all 3 pools was nicely warm...could just get right in. Chlorine smell was not overpowering at all. Children in hot tubs and no one seemed to mind...signs said they must be accompanied by adult. Did not say no children as previous poster states. Bar was not open so cannot attest to that. Tried to eat in restaurant for breakfast but it was not open. Gift shop was never open either. Asked for late check out nd was told no. Strange considering the hotel seemed at very low capacity. Definitely an old hotel that need a little work, but nothing that should keep someone from staying. Would go back.

Room Tip: I always avoid the pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.