We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventureland Inn
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We had 8 family members in our group and had ajoining rooms. We did open middle door to make 1 big room. Rooms were decent. Pool experience was a disaster. Chlorine smell was awful. My husband couldn't even sit in pool due to his burning eyes. Swim up bar was pathetic and was full of kids splashing even though there were a couple other pools made for kiddos. The "bar" had food menu however was out of every food except a few small bags of chips. Beers were concert prices. Hot tub rules clearly stated no one under age of 18 however almost impossible to get in because of the the many kids (including toddlers) in hot tub. Overall was not worth the money for our family. On a positive note, all staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    40
    30
    38
See reviews for
112
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading the horror stories about this hotel, I was very skeptical making reservations on a suite overlooking the pool. I went ahead and took the plunge (so to speak) and got the last room on the 2nd floor. We arrived at check-in, young man was very pleasant and helpful directing us where to park and on what door to look for. After a short trek from the parking lot, we go to our room and I told my wife to not expect much, but the kids busted in and were all amazed at how big the room(s) was and loved the balcony overlooking the pool. So I guess if they were happy, WE were happy!!
Ordered pizza from Domino's, delivered right to the room (excellent service) and spent the rest of the evening watching the kids swim. Yes it was packed, yes it was loud and yes the older guy working the pool had his hands full but he did a wonderful job and should be commended for his patience with some of the kids/adults he had to deal with. We woke up early the next morning and the kids went swimming again, pool was not near as busy, so they enjoyed it even more.
Granted, the room was a bit dated and I felt like $234 was a bit much (cheaper to go to Minneapolis and stay right across the street from MoA) but everything was clean and everyone enjoyed the weekend. Would we stay there again? Probably not, been there, done that now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here last february. Very enjoyable stay. Kids loved the pool. They had a section for the kids that were toddler friendly. The rooms were clean and front desk was efficient. They even had a shuttle if you wanted to venture over to Prairie Meadows (casino), was a nice trip despite Iowa's cold weather

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We joined another family to take our teenager girls someplace fun in the midst of an Iowa winter. I had never stayed at Adventureland Inn, nor had my husband. We checked in on a Saturday evening about 5:30 p.m.

LOBBY: The carpet in the main lobby area and main arterial hallways was dreadful looking -- it appeared clean, but was probably some of the ugliest carpet I've seen at any stay I've had anywhere. (Picture included). The front desk personnel were OK, but certainly not overly friendly, and some of the mini blinds in there area appeared to be broken, and the general upkeep wasn't great behind the desk.

ROOM: My husband and I paid $179.00 (which included tax for 1 night) in a room with 2 queen beds. It was in the Pool Side East area on the main level, and while all of the other rooms had a small patio with furniture where you could sit outside, ours (Room 164) did not because it was where the main walkthrough was. How disappointing! I have included a picture of room 164 without patio furniture and the main walkthru along with a picture of Room 154 right next door that did have a patio & furniture. Which would you choose? The rooms were clean, but very outdated and small. The shower rod in our shower looked as if it were about to fall at any moment (another photo attached), and the bathroom door hinges were incredibly rusty. The light over the picture window was incredibly bright and glaring. More the type you'd see in a doctor's exam room vs. a hotel room. We turned it off and opted for the softer lamp light instead (just our preference). I felt the rooms were incredibly over-priced for the features offered.

POOLS: There were two pool areas -- one in the East Courtyard, and one in the West Courtyard. The East Courtyard right outside our door is where the majority of the kids were (VERY LOUD), however, that's where the swim up bar was, which was odd. The pool in the West Courtyard was bigger, deeper and had less traffic so we opted to spend most of our time there. When we did go to the East Courtyard pool so we could have a drink, it was difficult to find a seat because children were sitting and playing on the pool bar stools which again, seemed odd. Recommendation: With two completely separate pool areas, make the West Courtyard Pool an adults only area. Move the swim up bar to the adult pool area, and make the rooms in the West Courtyard adults only. This would be a plus for those who want a nice romantic weekend away an opportunity to have some grown-up time, have a few drinks, and sit in the hot tub without wading through piles of children. It seemed incredibly inappropriate to have kids sitting on a bar stool, while the adults left their drinks to go for a swim. Seemed like a recipe for disaster to me. Oh, and the chlorine smell was overpowering! The first thing in the morning, it wasn't noticeable, but as soon as the pumps were turned on at 8:30 a.m., the clouds of chlorine filled the air, making your eyes burn and your nose run. Overall, the pools were clean, well kept, and looked wonderful -- there are no lifeguards, though, so swim at your own risk.

ARCADE: The arcade has a few games, but nothing that really kept the interest of teenagers. It would have been nice to see some retro games like Fooseball and/or a pool table. The only actual arcade game that caught their eye was one that featured several old games like Pac Man, etc.

RESTAURANT: The biggest surprise of the trip was the Restaurant at the hotel. Due to time constraints we ventured into the hotel around 6:00 p.m. on a Saturday night and we were the only guests there. We found that odd, and a little concerning, and took it as a sign that the food was probably dreadful, or the service, or both. What we found was that the prices were very reasonable, the food was good, and our server was wonderful. Because of our great experience Saturday night, we returned for breakfast Sunday morning to the same experience. Great food, good prices, and wonderful service. Thanks for that!! The good prices in the restaurant at least made you feel a little bit better about getting reamed for the room.

CLOTHING: For the most part, everyone wore acceptable attire, except for one gentleman that I noticed standing just outside the fence of the kiddie area. He had pants belted UNDERNEATH his butt cheeks, and from his waist to his upper thighs, his underwear were showing (nearly 12 inches of underwear!). Not only was this inappropriate in public, but in the kiddie area?? No one said anything to him. Eventually he saw us looking at him, and taking his photo, so right there in public, he undid his belt, pulled up his pants, tucked in his underwear and went inside his room. However, an hour later, he was back at poolside with his pants back down under his butt just as before. Some sort of dress code with regard to undergarments hanging out wouldn't be a bad idea. As a parent, I found this disturbing, and as an adult -- perplexing and ridiculous. Oh, and for your amusement, a photo is attached.

OVERALL: I doubt we will stay there again. The room rates are too prohibitive, and the fact that you can't find any respite from the shrieking children is definitely a deterrent.

Room Tip: Get a room poolsite, but avoid the corner room slike 164 as you won't have any patio furniture a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we rented a poolside suite, so our grandkids could go swimming. we paid for the room in advance, so when we checked in , they gave us 6 wristbands for swimming. we had 6 grandkids from 3 too 8, so their mothers wanted too go in the pool to watch them. now heres the part that ticked me off!!!!!! we had too buy 2 more wristbands for a mere 40 dollars so they could go in with their kids. i think the price of the wrist bands was outrageous!!!!! they didnt even offer k y jelly or vasaline, they just stuck it to you !!!!!! the pool bar wasnt open, altho that wasnt a problem , after paying for the wrist bands i was broke anyway!!!!! if your takeing your kids there too swim , make sure your under 6 people

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Adventureland Inn during a convention at nearby Prarie Meadows. By comparison, it was like staying in a 1970's vintage place compared to a 2012 facility. There were evidently pools inside, because permeating the hallways was a strong chlorine smell. The room wasn't bad, but otherwise it was like taking a trip back into time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

They really need a bell hop. After checking in earlier and explaining that someone was coming later to pick up a key and set up for my daughter's birthday, I was extremely disappointed to hear all that transpired. First, my aunt told them that she was here to pick up the key that was left for her and the front desk told her I was already in the room and to head down. Unfortunately, that was not the case. So searching for the room and going back to the front desk to get the key, the grabbed one of the bell hop carts to start taking stuff down to the room with absolutely no help from the staff (even when somethings fall out). Very disappointed, I gave two stars because the room was clean and the restaurant staff were pleasant. Next time, I'll go to the Ramada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.