We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip off!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Altoona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adventureland Inn
Save
You added Adventureland Inn to your Saves list
3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
brooklyn iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“rip off!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we rented a poolside suite, so our grandkids could go swimming. we paid for the room in advance, so when we checked in , they gave us 6 wristbands for swimming. we had 6 grandkids from 3 too 8, so their mothers wanted too go in the pool to watch them. now heres the part that ticked me off!!!!!! we had too buy 2 more wristbands for a mere 40 dollars so they could go in with their kids. i think the price of the wrist bands was outrageous!!!!! they didnt even offer k y jelly or vasaline, they just stuck it to you !!!!!! the pool bar wasnt open, altho that wasnt a problem , after paying for the wrist bands i was broke anyway!!!!! if your takeing your kids there too swim , make sure your under 6 people

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    45
    35
    38
See reviews for
120
Couples
0
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Adventureland Inn during a convention at nearby Prarie Meadows. By comparison, it was like staying in a 1970's vintage place compared to a 2012 facility. There were evidently pools inside, because permeating the hallways was a strong chlorine smell. The room wasn't bad, but otherwise it was like taking a trip back into time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

They really need a bell hop. After checking in earlier and explaining that someone was coming later to pick up a key and set up for my daughter's birthday, I was extremely disappointed to hear all that transpired. First, my aunt told them that she was here to pick up the key that was left for her and the front desk told her I was already in the room and to head down. Unfortunately, that was not the case. So searching for the room and going back to the front desk to get the key, the grabbed one of the bell hop carts to start taking stuff down to the room with absolutely no help from the staff (even when somethings fall out). Very disappointed, I gave two stars because the room was clean and the restaurant staff were pleasant. Next time, I'll go to the Ramada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the pool is fun for the kids. It is older and the rooms are small, however we were ok with it for a couple nights. The have a good and reasonably priced breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brewster mn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here because a wedding reception/dance that we were attending was held here. We have to say that our encounters with the entire staff were very pleasant--everyone was helpful and courteous. We ate ate the restaurant-food was good, a bit overpriced for what it was, but good, just the same. The banquet food was very good--the prime rib was primo. Now on to the facility--it NEEDS updating--the whole thing has the 70's thing going on. We didn't find any bugs or anything, but the entire place needs some work--they seem to know that people stay for convenience--and they really don't care, because of that reason. We did not use the pool areas, but some from our party did and their children enjoyed it. This place does not advertise to be a 4 star resort, and I guess if I was planning a family trip, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. It may seem overpriced, but I think kids would love it.

Room Tip: Ask that you are not given a room on the south side--a pond borders the property and dozens of Canad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had family members who'd decided not to attend our July, 2012 family reunion because they'd gotten advice from someone who'd stayed in the same hotel a year ago, and thought it was awful, run down, and just a bad place overall. Because my 92-year-old father was going to make the trip from AZ to come to the gathering, I reserved rooms, but with much reservation. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by the accommodations! Our rooms were very CLEAN, up-to-date, & comfortable in the 2012 JULY HEAT, and I was so wishing that the rest of our family had not backed out! The manager was specifically gracious to our dad, who was given a great main floor room, near the lobby room, and several times the manager stopped us in the lobby to chat, remembering which group we were with. The room we had for our big dinner gathering was perfect, the food was more than adequate, and the staff had been accommodating to the needs or our group, as far as microphone, ability to do a photo slideshow, etc. The room we had reserved was the appropriate size for intimacy, without being overcrowded. We had a wonderful time, and didn't hear any complaints from other guests in our group of 90+. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a large group gathering!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went to Adventureland for two days with young kids, ages 7 and 5, so we stayed at the Adventureland Inn. It is very convenient. The shuttle is nice; our kids got tired so we went back to the hotel both days to rest for awhile. The rooms are average. The air conditioner in our room was noisy and did not cool very well. The pools are nice and since the park does not open until 10:00, we spent time in the pools every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Address: 3200 Adventureland Drive, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventureland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.