We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Adventureland Dr NW, Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
northern colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything you would expect from a HIE. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. this is a great location that is just off the highway and very close to Prairie Meadows casino. Several fast food choices as well a grocery store not too far. Breakfast was the usual, but well stocked. would stay again if in the area, this was my second trip to the Des Moines area and have found cheaper HIE but paid a little more for the convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi tiamo908,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay with us! We love to hear when we have made our guests stay an enjoyable one!
We hope to see you again in your travels.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
21
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is approx. 6 yrs old and has been taken cary of very well. Rooms are clean and comfortable also the staff was curtious,friendly, and knowledgeable. It is in a good location near the Casino and in a quite area just outside of Des Moines. Would recommend to others as I travel extensively for my job. I stay in motels approx. 120 nights a year

Room Tip: Walls seem to be insulade good as low outside noise and no hallway or other room noise even floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Brian P,

Thank you for the wonderful comments on our property and staff! We are very proud of both of those areas as well! As I am sure you have found with traveling extensively, it is always good when you find a great staff and hotel where you can feel at "home". We hope to see you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed a night while traveling through IA. Room was super clean and comfy. The bed linens were soft. The pool and breakfast area were spotless as well. A lot of choices for the free breakfast, however, there wasn't any bacon or sausage. Easy access, right off the interstate. My only complaint is that it was little pricey for the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Familyof3Adventures,

Thank you for choosing our hotel while traveling through Iowa. We appreciate all the great feedback! We do pride ourselves with having a great staff. I will certainly share this with all of them.
Safe travels and Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The HIX in Altoona, Iowa is in a great location, as it is on the eastern side of Des Moines, Iowa.
The access to the highway is a mere off and back on type of arrangements which is usually good for us travelers. The people are very welcoming and the facility is clean and well kept however the location needs some restaurants in the immediate area for easy access. There are restaurants within approximately 15 blocks, but nothing other than a convenience store within 5 blocks.
I've have stayed at this location for at least 3-4 times in as many years, my only drawback is the pricing. I believe that they need to adjust their pricing accordingly due to the lack of eateries in the area or build one themselves in all the adjacent land around them.

If there were restaurants close by I would not be writing this review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Steven E,

Thank you for your great comments on our location, welcoming staff and cleanliness of our hotel! We enjoy hearing when we have met and or exceeded our guests expectations.
Altoona is an up and coming community and we have excellent restaurant choices within a few minutes drive. We also hope to see several more closer choices in the future.
Have a Great Day and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel was very easy to find. Check-in was fast and efficient. Since I am a priority club member, the clerk offered two bottles of water (not every Holiday Inn does this). Room was neat and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast bar in the morning provided everything we could have asked for.

Room Tip: Since this was our first time visiting this location, our third floor room proved to be quite nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful compliments on our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed the extra perk of receiving water for being one of our dedicated Priority Club Rewards members.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, IA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything rated a 5, except, the wireless would not work, and they will not give Government rates. The front desk referred us to the Ehost support number, and Ehost never followed up, even after two phone calls. All they could advise was there was a "hardware" issue, and that it WAS with their equpment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please accept my deepest apologies for the internet issues. We have since taken care of the issue andI hope that you will stay with us again! We do appreciate you and Thank you for bringing this to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nice pool and hot tub, and a clean comfortable room. Looks like it gets a lot of families due to it's proximity to Adventureland. Complementary breakfast is fine. It's about a mile or two east of all of the park and all of the restaurants; nothing immediately adjacent.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review on our hotel! You are correct, we do get quite a bit of business from Adventureland Amusement Park during the peak season. I hope that you will stay with us again when you are in this area on business or pleasure. Have a Great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
1.4 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 7 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#6 of 7 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites of Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines

Address: 165 Adventureland Dr NW, Altoona, IA 50009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a Home Away From Home at Our Hotel in Altoona, Iowa If you are visiting Iowa's capital city metro area, consider staying at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines. With comfortable lodging at a reasonable price, you can rest easy in our Des Moines area hotel without any stress on your budget. Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the ease of visiting our suburban hotel, which is located less than 15 miles from both the Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and the Ankeny Airport (IKV).Several businesses are in close proximity to our Des Moines hotel, such as Tone's Spices, Barilla Pasta and the Pella Corporation. Our Des Moines accommodations are also surrounded by several convention centers and meeting facilities, including Wells Fargo Arena Iowa Events Center and the Iowa State Fair Grounds. If you are in Des Moines for a leisurely stay, our hotel is conveniently located near many Des Moines attractions, such as the Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino, Newton Speedway and Adventureland Amusement Park. Just a 10 minute drive from the hotel is downtown Des Moines, the perfect place to go for a night out on the town. With an on-site fitness center and an indoor pool, our hotel in Altoona is the perfect place to stay during your trip to Iowa's capital city. Start planning your next trip today and be sure to check out our excellent Altoona hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Holiday Inn Altoona
Altoona Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.