We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quit, enjoyable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Adventureland Dr NW, Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bridgewater, IA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quit, enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything rated a 5, except, the wireless would not work, and they will not give Government rates. The front desk referred us to the Ehost support number, and Ehost never followed up, even after two phone calls. All they could advise was there was a "hardware" issue, and that it WAS with their equpment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please accept my deepest apologies for the internet issues. We have since taken care of the issue andI hope that you will stay with us again! We do appreciate you and Thank you for bringing this to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
18
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nice pool and hot tub, and a clean comfortable room. Looks like it gets a lot of families due to it's proximity to Adventureland. Complementary breakfast is fine. It's about a mile or two east of all of the park and all of the restaurants; nothing immediately adjacent.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriWeatherman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review on our hotel! You are correct, we do get quite a bit of business from Adventureland Amusement Park during the peak season. I hope that you will stay with us again when you are in this area on business or pleasure. Have a Great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here as a surprise for our daughters birthday and we were VERY disapointed. We are heavy travlers in our professions and are Priority Members and this was one of the saddest Holiday Inn Expresses we stayed in - Felt dirty and un kept. Needs updating. And it was high priced the the area. Small Pool and the water in the hot tub was luke warm at best and almost felt dirty. We were very disapointed - normally we LOVE a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear libinatorsmom9357,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. Thank you for being one of our Priority Club Members. I apologize for the overall cleanliness of our facility and for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have stayed at this particular Holiday Inn Express at least 12 times over the last three years while attending races at Iowa Speedway in Newton. The hotel staff are unfailingly friendly, rooms are clean, and the location convenient to the freeway. Never used the pool, but it always looks inviting. Breakfast is filling - tending to the carbohydrate side. My only complaint - such as it is - is that I agree with other travelers in that it is somewhat higher in cost than I would expect, but for the convenience and overall satifying experiences I have been content to continue to book rooms with them.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge and micro be sure you get the "deluxe" room. Rooms on third floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale Minn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have stayed in many a hotel. This hotel is well kept. the staff at night is helpful. They have a great room setup. Comfy beds are very well compared to other hotels of the past.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A nice place for a stopover. Clean and comfortable. However, very expensive - $133 a night for regular size king without even a small fridge. Could have stayed on ocean for a better price. $69 would have been more like it. Very friendly service though. Hot water is luke warm at best. Be prepared to shiver in bath or shower.

Room Tip: Maybe first floor to get a hot shower! I stayed on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Ohi0Runner76,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We arrived late and left early as we on our way home and this was a place to stop for the night between two long days of driving. We stayed in Holiday Inn Express hotels for all but two nights of our 2 week trip. This is a nice clean hotel--typical of what we expect from a Holiday Inn Express with one exception. After being on the road we look forward to checking email and weather for the next day on our computer. The internet connection was so slow that we gave up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines

Address: 165 Adventureland Dr NW, Altoona, IA 50009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a Home Away From Home at Our Hotel in Altoona, Iowa If you are visiting Iowa's capital city metro area, consider staying at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines. With comfortable lodging at a reasonable price, you can rest easy in our Des Moines area hotel without any stress on your budget. Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the ease of visiting our suburban hotel, which is located less than 15 miles from both the Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and the Ankeny Airport (IKV).Several businesses are in close proximity to our Des Moines hotel, such as Tone's Spices, Barilla Pasta and the Pella Corporation. Our Des Moines accommodations are also surrounded by several convention centers and meeting facilities, including Wells Fargo Arena Iowa Events Center and the Iowa State Fair Grounds. If you are in Des Moines for a leisurely stay, our hotel is conveniently located near many Des Moines attractions, such as the Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino, Newton Speedway and Adventureland Amusement Park. Just a 10 minute drive from the hotel is downtown Des Moines, the perfect place to go for a night out on the town. With an on-site fitness center and an indoor pool, our hotel in Altoona is the perfect place to stay during your trip to Iowa's capital city. Start planning your next trip today and be sure to check out our excellent Altoona hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Holiday Inn Altoona
Altoona Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.